Area Terrain - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Anphicar's Avatar
Anphicar's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA, VA
Posts: 2,688
Reputation: 1
Default

Im still not sure what your question is, jig. :oops:

Anphicar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jigplums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,602
Reputation: 5
Default

I'll re-phrase and see if it makes sense. What he was saying was that he was briefed recently that

If you are shooting at a model within area terrain, and you are also in area terrain then you you add the distances that you are both from the edge of your terrain pieces together. So for example a unit of eldar rangers is 4" into an area of woods. They want to shoot at some firewarriors however the firewarriors are 3" into some ruins.

Check out my gamer Blog
http://gamergeekery.blogspot.co.uk/2...rs-in-40k.html

Jezlad "I actually commented that Jigplums list was the least scary list I faced. Then took a pasting"
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/jigplums
http://www.coolminiornot.com/160095
jigplums is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-14-07, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
LongBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 630
Default

I've always played It 6+6 I'm sure theres no mention of cumalation within the BGB, I'll have a check later on.....

''I Beard therefore I am!''

LongBeard (AKA Bennetio!)
LongBeard is offline  
 
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-14-07, 06:42 PM
Porn King!!!
 
The Wraithlord's Avatar
The Wraithlord's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,137
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LongBeard
I've always played It 6+6 I'm sure theres no mention of cumalation within the BGB, I'll have a check later on.....
Agreed, I have never once seen any mention of the distance into terrain being cumulative with the terrain you are in. So long as the model doing the shooting is within 6" of the edge of the terrain it is in, that said model can shoot out of it with no restrictions. If the model he is shooting at is also in terrain but within 6" of the edge as well, it can be hit as normal. Nowhere in the rulebook does it state that this is a cumulative number.

one thing I want is the ability to split my fire everywhere, it makes no sense that a squad of 10 guard or marines or whatever all have to fire at 1 target with everything, is the guy with the lascannon not smart enough to realize maybe he would be better off firing at the massive tank looming overhead instead of the little man no bigger than a squat running at him, or is that far too complex for the 10yr olds?

My Thousand Sons Project Log
My Warriors of Chaos Project Log
My Cryx Project Log
My Necron Project Log
The Wraithlord is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-14-07, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Anphicar's Avatar
Anphicar's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA, VA
Posts: 2,688
Reputation: 1
Default

Yeah, they can shoot each other.

Anphicar is offline  
post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-15-07, 01:00 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jigplums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,602
Reputation: 5
Default

yeah i agree. But just to be aware it might, somehow be faq-ed in the near future

Check out my gamer Blog
http://gamergeekery.blogspot.co.uk/2...rs-in-40k.html

Jezlad "I actually commented that Jigplums list was the least scary list I faced. Then took a pasting"
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/jigplums
http://www.coolminiornot.com/160095
jigplums is offline  
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-15-07, 02:08 AM
Powered by Squig Tea
 
Viscount Vash's Avatar
Viscount Vash's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In da Toolz cupboard in da Mekshop
Posts: 7,589
Reputation: 53
Default

If it goes that way in a future FAQ it will make Kroot a much nastier unit.

I have seen people play the cumaltive way, but I always thought it was a crock and agree that it is seperate not cumaltive.
Viscount Vash is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-15-07, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 74
Default

I've only played in one tourney where the organizer used the system you described. It does make shooting a lot harder and assault units a bit more survivable.

Game mechanics, I can't find anything the definitively states they are not cumulative; you just can't shoot through more than 6".

Locally, we don't add up the terrain together; kind of a pain in the a$$.
Sarigar is offline  
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-07, 02:14 PM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

You can see out of 6 inches of terrain, and you can see into 6 inches of terrain. 6+6 should be the way it;s done. Does it make sense? Not really, but it;s how the rules work.

Just like how you can see, move and shoot through walls in CoD

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-18-07, 12:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Default

A lot of the confusion is from the old codex: catachan jungle fighting rules, where you did take the cumulative total.

But, as others have said in the 4th Ed rules there is no basis for it. you can see up to 6" on either side.
Barney the Lurker is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome