space marines locator - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-25-12, 04:54 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rtthg6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 232
Reputation: 1
Default space marines locator

for the locator beacons do place the models then measure or do you measure then place the models and if its the first one what happens if your farther then 6?

Last edited by rtthg6; 03-25-12 at 05:56 AM.
rtthg6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-25-12, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
the-ad-man's Avatar
the-ad-man's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: stafford, england
Posts: 1,740
Reputation: 1
Default

place the models, then measure. there is no pre-measuring for anything in 40k (apart from targeter squigs for orks)

if you are outside of 6" then you dont get the bonus of beacon, so you'd scatter 2d6

Ive started to update this project loge again, you should all check it out. it has some stupid things on it, and some fun things on it haha

Order of the Crimson Dawn (Rogue trader pirates, using Coteaz henchmen spam rules)

https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=96746
the-ad-man is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-25-12, 01:50 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

The ruling for measuring only says that a measurement must be done when the rules call for it there is no stipulation that you have to do it before or after an action except in the specific cases of shooting and assaulting.

I'd dispute that you cannot measure before placing your units and I can see no reason why "choose to arrive within 6" " doesn't mean you can measure the distance as part of your choice.

Logic doesn't follow that you have a homing beacon that you can't actually home in on, but rather randomly happen to be near.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 03-25-12 at 01:53 PM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-25-12, 07:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rtthg6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 232
Reputation: 1
Default

still a little confused but i think i get it place models first then measure
rtthg6 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-25-12, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
LukeValantine's Avatar
LukeValantine's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Regina, Sask, Canada
Posts: 4,277
Reputation: 21
Default

If its like the chaos icons then measure out 6" then place the models in that range. However the loyalist book may have different wording so I don't know.


Medusa: "I'm a witch, its my job to blaspheme against Gods."

Two Slaanesh daemons on the first go...hmm I guess the fates have spoken emperors children here I come
LukeValantine is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-25-12, 11:08 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

The wording is the same for the loyalist Teleport homer, locator beacon and servo skull. The hint is given that Lesser Daemons MUST DS within 6" of an Icon, this would require measurement before placement.

I think that applies to all homer devices.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome