DA Assault squad question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-12, 03:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lord Rahl's Avatar
Lord Rahl's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 632
Reputation: 1
Default DA Assault squad question

Hello all, I was reading the DA codex a few minutes ago and noticed that their assault squads have the deep strike special rule. I know that they have jump packs with allows them to deep strike as in the BrB, but they also have the option to remove the jump packs and take a drop pod/rhino.

So my question is: if I remove the jump packs do they lose the deep strike rule, I would guess its, No, because they have it under their special rules.

Thanx

All mon-keigh must die
We who are about to die, Salute you!

http://www.facebook.com/prettypreciousjewellery
Lord Rahl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-12, 03:18 PM
Wax
Senior Member
 
Wax's Avatar
Wax's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Amurica
Posts: 361
Reputation: 2
Default

Deep Strike is part of their special rules because jump packs are part of their wargear. If you remove the jump packs they lose the ability to deep strike.
Wax is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-12, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Yeah probably, if you want to be 'That Guy' of course.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-12, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

Don't have the book handy, but it's not the jump packs that grant the special rule, it's the fact that it makes the Jump Infantry, which have the deep strike rule. You remove the jump pack, and they are no longer Jump Infantry so they can no longer deep strike.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-12, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Ravner298's Avatar
Ravner298's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

I'd let you deep strike them with or without jump packs just for playing a non-wing DA list!

But as far as the intention, it's probably only there because of the jump packs. Don't read into it so much.
Ravner298 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-09-12, 10:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

If, however, you DO want to read into it too much, then if the squad has the Deep Strike rule listed as one of their special rules, with no condition that they have jump packs, then yes, you may deep strike.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-10-12, 03:29 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Under the Jump Pack entry it states it confers Deep Strike to the unit. No Packs, no Deep Strike.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-12, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lord Rahl's Avatar
Lord Rahl's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 632
Reputation: 1
Default

ok guys thanks for the replies, it was a just a quick thought that came to me whilst reading, I will NOT be taking advantage of this, as I hate those GUYS that do.

All mon-keigh must die
We who are about to die, Salute you!

http://www.facebook.com/prettypreciousjewellery
Lord Rahl is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome