Hunters from Hyperspace and Veil of Darkness - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-03-12, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default Hunters from Hyperspace and Veil of Darkness

Do Deathmarks that use the Veil of Darkness get to mark a new unit with Hunters from Hyperspace when they deepstrike back on the board with a Veil of Darkness?
capnmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-03-12, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Unfortunately no. I had the same thought some time again and combed through the rules very carefully. Hunters from Hyperspace says they mark a unit when the Deathmarks deploy. Veil of Darkness is surprisingly careful in its wording. It says they can be put on the table anywhere using the deep-strike rules. It does not say re-deploy using the deep-strike rules. It's a little disappointing but the unit would be incredibly broken if you could mark new units just for teleporting.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-04-12, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Silens's Avatar
Silens's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,662
Reputation: 17
Default

For that matter, can a Cryptek join a unit of Deathmarks and then deepstrike this way?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordicus View Post
"Look they got a-OH MY GOD I'M ON FIRE FOR THE LOVE OF NAKED SANTA IT HURTS!"
Silens is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-04-12, 12:41 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necron FAQ
Q: Can a unit of Deathmarks with an attached model
from a Royal Court Deep Strike? (p90)
A: No. Every model in a unit must have the Deep Strike
special rule for it to do so.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-04-12, 12:53 AM
Ancient Relic
 
mcmuffin's Avatar
mcmuffin's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waking up from my tomb world
Posts: 2,430
Reputation: 7
Default

They can if they have a veil.

Quote:
Originally Posted by McMuffin's Law
As an online discussion about 40k grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Squats approaches 1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Keep in mind you are arguing "realism" about an army of genetically-altered supermen that are able to shrug off rocket propelled explosive bullets because someone is waving around a cup full of blood that reminds them of their long lost Super Daddy that was killed by there Extra Special-Super Uncle.
Space Wolves Tournament Results W:24 D:8 L:8
Jaws-ing my way to victory
mcmuffin is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-04-12, 07:35 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Yeah, you can be incredibly nasty with deathmarks- take 2 identical units with 2 despair harbingers (1 veil) and an overlord in night scythes.
You can zoom across the board and not worry about being destroyed (if you do you enter reserve, which you can leave via veil anyway), you can disembark right next to enemy units and douse them with super-hellfire (wounding on 2+ with rerolls vs most troops) and lay a couple of Ap2 flamer templates that also wound on a 2+... then any remnants that charge you will have to deal with a tooled combat overlord.

Deathmarks aren'best unit in the book... but they have some awesome abilities.


EDIT- although not sure how the no-DS rules of the night scythe would interact with a veil. I think they are there to stop jump infantry from choosing to DS instead but that it hits the veil as well (for a turn).

Tim/Steve is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome