Ghost Ark Repair Barge Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-27-12, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default Ghost Ark Repair Barge Question

I run 8 warriors, a cryptek, and a lord in my Ghost Arks. My question is if the entire unit gets killed and the cryptek and the lord both reanimate, or even if only 1 reanimates, can the Ghost Ark attempt to add D3 warriors back the unit in the next turn. It's my understanding that once crypteks and lords are assigned to a unit they become part of the unit. So even though no warriors are present the lord and cryptek are still technically considered a unit of warriors.

Last edited by capnmoe; 02-27-12 at 11:54 PM.
capnmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-27-12, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Iron Angel's Avatar
Iron Angel's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,271
Reputation: 14
Default

It states in the RP rules:

"Characters do not count as part of the unit for the purposes of reanimation protocols". If you can't attempt a RA roll then all your necron warriors are dead, and the characters are a different unit, and this the D3 warriors cannot be added.

Iron Angel is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-28-12, 12:04 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Angel View Post
It states in the RP rules:

"Characters do not count as part of the unit for the purposes of reanimation protocols". If you can't attempt a RA roll then all your necron warriors are dead, and the characters are a different unit, and this the D3 warriors cannot be added.
2 Things:

1. The Reanimation Protocols rule says "if a character is the only survivor of a unit, his presence is not sufficient to allow a reanimation protocols roll, so remove any remaining counters." That's fine I understand that. But he is still considered a unit of warriors, he's just the upgrade character thats left. Kind of like a space marine sergeant from what I understand.

2. No where in the Repair Barge rules does it say that if a character is the only survivor of a unit, his presence is not sufficient to allow for the addition of new warriors.

Last edited by capnmoe; 02-28-12 at 12:15 AM.
capnmoe is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-28-12, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

It is absolutely legal for a Ghost Ark repair barge to add D3 Warriors back to the unit, for the reason stated above.

The Ghost Ark does not roll a Reanimation Protocol roll, nor does it offer a re-roll (like the Monolith used to do), but has its own rule for creating Warriors and adding them to a unit. It has nothing at all to do with Reanimation Protocols.

The Lords and Cryteks from a Warrior unit are still a Warrior unit even if all the Warriors die, and they still count as Troops. From the example in the OP, if both the Lord and Cryptek die and roll a success on the Reanimation Protocols then they must get back up in coherency and are both still in the same unit. The Ghost Ark can then add Warriors back into this unit.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome