Few BA questions - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Avatar
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 74
Reputation: 2
Few BA questions

Ok here goes, few of these came up in a tourny and needless to say helped the guy win the whole thing in top game.

1. Can you use the Sang Priest abilities while he is embarked in a storm raven? ie. Chalice ability of FNP and Furious Charge?

2. Do you measure those abilities from the storm raven's wings as stated in the FAQ "wings count as hull of the vehicle?" YES. or would you have to measure from the actual hull where they disembark?

3. How could you call the person out on these if they are cheating to say the least?

if these questions were brought up before pls link so i can check them out .. only reason i am asking these questions now is i know this guy will be at the con in my town in a month and need to be ready for this type of stuff.. thanks all
FallenAngelsRedeemed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 01:41 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FallenAngelsRedeemed View Post
Ok here goes, few of these came up in a tourny and needless to say helped the guy win the whole thing in top game.

1. Can you use the Sang Priest abilities while he is embarked in a storm raven? ie. Chalice ability of FNP and Furious Charge?

Yes you can ... the unit only needs to be within 6" of the Thunder Guppy when the ability is being used.

2. Do you measure those abilities from the storm raven's wings as stated in the FAQ "wings count as hull of the vehicle?" YES. or would you have to measure from the actual hull where they disembark?

I measure from the base itself (the flying stand). RAW you can measure from any point of the hull. Wings count as hull, I however choose to play it a bit more ... sporting? It works well for me and I have never gotten an argument over doing it this way.

3. How could you call the person out on these if they are cheating to say the least?


if these questions were brought up before pls link so i can check them out .. only reason i am asking these questions now is i know this guy will be at the con in my town in a month and need to be ready for this type of stuff.. thanks all
So far as I can see this person has not cheated you ... I would, however, recommend talking it over with the TO.

WOW. I just went down and measured the wingspan of that Thunder Guppy. It has a wingspan of 10", giving a FNP reach of 22". Doing it the way I do from the base I am only getting a reach of 15&11/16" of FNP bubble.

Last edited by OIIIIIIO; 01-12-12 at 01:47 AM.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 01:54 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Avatar
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 74
Reputation: 2
Default

So where does it say that it is allowed for units embarked to use "static abilities" from within the transport as they are not actually on the field? i know you can use psychic abilities and all but that was FAQ (from fire points for shooting attacks and specific abilities from within the transport). Not trying to argue the questions here .. i guess i am arguing "realism".
FallenAngelsRedeemed is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 01:59 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

BRB pg 66, right column, 2nd paragraph, last sentence:

Quote:
If the player needs to measure a range involving an embarked unit, this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.
Keep in mind you are arguing "realism" about an army of genetically-altered supermen that are able to shrug off rocket propelled explosive bullets because someone is waving around a cup full of blood that reminds them of their long lost Super Daddy that was killed by there Extra Special-Super Uncle.

Strange, but not a Stranger.

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 01-12-12 at 02:02 AM.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 02:03 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

It is because of the way that Chalice of Blood is written. In C:SM the Apothecary only gives the unit he is with FNP. With C:BA it is a bubble effect 6" around the Sang. Priest. (Pg. 48 C:BA)

Now when a unit that has these types of effects are embarked in a transport of any kind, you can measure from any point of the hull.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 02:04 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Avatar
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 74
Reputation: 2
Default

I was just picturing the priest sitting in the storm raven tweeting on an iphone while the blood chalice sits on the floor giving the troops outside the bonus..
FallenAngelsRedeemed is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 02:07 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

That would do it ... Droids are better for that though. You don't have to pay for Angry Birds.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

You measure from the hull not from the base, So you have a massive bubble in the sky which wont really affect anyone on the ground. People seem to think you measure from the base and I can see why but that is not what the codex says. It's a three dimensional game so you need to measure the elevation as well as the horizontal distance.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 06:35 PM
Member
 
kelmar40k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1
Default

Armoro has it on the head. You woud measure diagonally from that wing to the units base imo. The stand for the thunder guppie is what? at least 4" high and the wings maybe an inch higher? So the squad would have to be damn near under it to get it.
kelmar40k is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-12-12, 08:17 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Avatar
FallenAngelsRedeemed's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 74
Reputation: 2
Default

Never actually looked at it that way thanks Aramoro i will keep that in mind.
FallenAngelsRedeemed is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome