Losing a combat - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-14-08, 10:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Default Losing a combat

Allright gang, this situation almost exploded me and my mate's heads yesterday whiile playing (which means there's probably a very simple answer).

3 Orks (one was a Nob with powerklaw) were fighting two Dreadnoughts (I know - it looks bad for da boyz). Dreads kill two orks and nob kills one dreadnought. We couldn't work out who wins combat for purposes of a morale check. Dreads count as 10 models for outnumbering purposes; we didn't technically "wound" the dread; do any hits (glance or pen) count as a wound when calculating total wounds to a walker; does no one leave a fight with a walker (the walker doesn't and if we can't "wound" it ...).

Headache once again just thinking about it!
gblai6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 12:16 AM
Senior Member
 
mgtymouze's Avatar
mgtymouze's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spanaway WA
Posts: 428
Reputation: 1
Default

Dude on page 72, states that each roll on the vehicle damage chart counts as a single wound. 10 is just for the morale check for the other side. Vehicles never have to make the morale check at the end of combat (pg 73).

Hope this helps you man.
mgtymouze is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Revelations's Avatar
Revelations's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gblai6 View Post
Allright gang, this situation almost exploded me and my mate's heads yesterday whiile playing (which means there's probably a very simple answer).

3 Orks (one was a Nob with powerklaw) were fighting two Dreadnoughts (I know - it looks bad for da boyz). Dreads kill two orks and nob kills one dreadnought. We couldn't work out who wins combat for purposes of a morale check. Dreads count as 10 models for outnumbering purposes; we didn't technically "wound" the dread; do any hits (glance or pen) count as a wound when calculating total wounds to a walker; does no one leave a fight with a walker (the walker doesn't and if we can't "wound" it ...).

Headache once again just thinking about it!
Walkers don't take moral checks. The only draw back they suffer is by losing combat and taking more hits VIA being outnumbered. Did you do more hits?

In this case, one unit was destroyed while you suffered two wounds and you're still in combat against the 2nd walker. And you're down to the last man anyway. I'd say you'd have to check (at an heinous negative modifier) and then start making your last man standing checks if you manage to survive.

Pondering...
Revelations is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 10:27 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

As mgtymouze said, each damage result against the dread counts as a 'wound' for combat resolution. So if the Nob actually caused two or more rolls on the damage charts, it's a tie or an Ork win.
don_mondo is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 10:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Default

Knew it was an easy answer! Thanks very much guys - the way it worked out we pretty much accidentally followed the rules anyway!
gblai6 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome