Can invulnerable saves prevent wounds from dangerous terrain? - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-14-08, 05:01 PM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

No, he was saying that people forget that FNP can ignore plasma overheats, and that people often forget that just because it's AP2 doesn't mean they don't get a FNP check. You do get a FNP check against plasma (if you;re a marine or tougher), even if you don't get an armor save.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-14-08, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

Ah so shooting wounds with no armour save that isn't inst. death don't rule out FNP but CC attacks that ignore armour do... I get it now... thanks

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 02:38 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

Yep, that's it exactly. Mephiston (T5) can take a meltagun to the face and shrug it off with a laugh and a giggle, but a railgun shot just leaves a smoking pair of boots.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 03:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Tanrel's Avatar
Tanrel's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NW of the US
Posts: 872
Reputation: 1
Default

Hahaha, thats a funny situational thought. CC weapons that ignor armor saves are all power weapons, rending weapons, and force weapons.



USMC, Oorah!
Tanrel is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 03:41 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

LOL, yeah. A Plague Marine can take a S7 plasma gun shot to the chest without issue, but a S3 IG officer can stick him with a power sword and drop him without a chance of salvation. It's a bit odd, but that's how it goes.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Tanrel's Avatar
Tanrel's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NW of the US
Posts: 872
Reputation: 1
Default

haha, that would be a hell of a lucky roll to wound a plague marine.



USMC, Oorah!
Tanrel is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

That's cleared that up a lot thanks. I suppose the power weapon doesn't ignore it because the force field cuts straight through anything really, fluff wise....

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-15-08, 03:11 PM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

That's the logic behind it, yeah. Can't ignore getting cut in half, smashed into paste, or atomized by an anti-tank round.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-16-08, 12:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Tanrel's Avatar
Tanrel's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NW of the US
Posts: 872
Reputation: 1
Default

hehe, smashed to paste...I've had that happen to plenty a Master Commander before.



USMC, Oorah!
Tanrel is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome