Chaos Rhino. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
royemunson's Avatar
royemunson's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 238
Reputation: 1
Default Chaos Rhino.

This came up at club last night and although it is wrong, the 'rules as written' mean it can be done, anyway let me explain.
My friend took a twenty man chaos space marine squad and bought a rhino for it even though they could not ride in it and then spent the rest of the game using it as mobile cover for the unit.
Now he cant see a problem with this as according to the army list it can be done but it just feels so wrong. What are peoples view on this?.

Well, the Chaos Space Marines have the chaos gods on their side, while the Space Marines have Games Workshop on their's.
So one has the most corrupt, twisted and souless entities in existance helping them while the other gets the chaos gods.
royemunson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Revelations's Avatar
Revelations's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by royemunson View Post
This came up at club last night and although it is wrong, the 'rules as written' mean it can be done, anyway let me explain.
My friend took a twenty man chaos space marine squad and bought a rhino for it even though they could not ride in it and then spent the rest of the game using it as mobile cover for the unit.
Now he cant see a problem with this as according to the army list it can be done but it just feels so wrong. What are peoples view on this?.
What's the problem?

Can he purchase the Rhino for a 20 man squad? Yes.

Can a 20 man Squad ride in a Rhino? No.

Does the squad have to be able to use the Rhino? No.

Does the squad have to be deployed in the Rhino? No.

Does a vehicle provide cover or block LoS? Yes.

Is there a difference between using a dedicated Rhino for cover over a Predator tank? No.

Seems legitimate anyway you look at it. A good use of tactics on his part.

Why exactly do you feel this is wrong?

Pondering...
Revelations is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
royemunson's Avatar
royemunson's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 238
Reputation: 1
Default

Is the fact that in every other codex there is an max. unit size to be aloud a transport, but also it is fluff wise, why would a unit have a transport they cant ride in.

Well, the Chaos Space Marines have the chaos gods on their side, while the Space Marines have Games Workshop on their's.
So one has the most corrupt, twisted and souless entities in existance helping them while the other gets the chaos gods.
royemunson is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Rindaris's Avatar
Rindaris's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 278
Reputation: 1
Default

They're Chaos..... fluff wise they use whatever tactics they can to win. And even if the Rhino gets shot up, they'll just steal another one from some loyalists they kill.
Rindaris is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Revelations's Avatar
Revelations's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by royemunson View Post
Is the fact that in every other codex there is an max. unit size to be aloud a transport,
And most other codecies have body guards for their Commanders. We all have to live with the Codex we're given for our armies. Just because I can field two Princes, doesn't mean an Eldar player should be able to field two Avatars.
Quote:
Originally Posted by royemunson View Post
but also it is fluff wise, why would a unit have a transport they cant ride in.
How about to provide cover from the enemy as well as mobile fire support? Makes perfect sense to me. This is Chaos after all, chances are they know some people are going to die in battle; or have taken the Rhino transport with the intention of capturing slaves. Fluff wise I should be able to ride on top of a transport, but I can't do that in game.

Take this however you want, but it appears that someone did something that makes sense VIA rules as well as retains fluffy aspects and beat you with it and you're trying to look for a way to prevent them from doing it again. It's an AV10 vehicle, not to hard to destroy; chances are you could also take away a few of his models with it if you blow it up too.

Pondering...
Revelations is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 04:46 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 280
Default

It's actually a little tougher than AV10, but I agree it's pretty easy to pop.
Triumph Of Man is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Red Orc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,615
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by royemunson View Post
Is the fact that in every other codex there is an max. unit size to be aloud a transport, but also it is fluff wise, why would a unit have a transport they cant ride in.
This isn't actually true.

I don't have 'every other codex' by a long way, but I know that both Blood Angels and Dark Angels are allowed to take transports that are too small for their units to fit in.

If you don't like the idea of having a unit too big its transport, that's fine, you don't have to field one. But it's perfectly legal to do so under several codices. As Revelations has said, there could be a number of backstory reasons that the Rhino is there and empty.

:RAW cyclops:

"Well it's Forty-one Thousand Nine Hundred Sixty-nine OK -
Gotta war across the Milky Way - "
Iggius Popiscus and the Stoogii, "41,969"


Red Orc is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
royemunson's Avatar
royemunson's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 238
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revelations View Post
Take this however you want, but it appears that someone did something that makes sense VIA rules as well as retains fluffy aspects and beat you with it and you're trying to look for a way to prevent them from doing it again. It's an AV10 vehicle, not to hard to destroy; chances are you could also take away a few of his models with it if you blow it up too.
I still beat him, this is not a 'he cheated me out of a win thread' and i will never stop him taking it, it just seem an odd thing to be able to buy for a unit, it went well with his twin lashes anyway.

Well, the Chaos Space Marines have the chaos gods on their side, while the Space Marines have Games Workshop on their's.
So one has the most corrupt, twisted and souless entities in existance helping them while the other gets the chaos gods.
royemunson is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
royemunson's Avatar
royemunson's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 238
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Orc View Post
This isn't actually true.

I don't have 'every other codex' by a long way, but I know that both Blood Angels and Dark Angels are allowed to take transports that are too small for their units to fit in.

:

I think your wrong on that one i'm afraid, yes you can buy a razorback for a ten man squad but that squad has the option to split in to two units so one of them can use the transport. you cant do that with the chaos one.

Well, the Chaos Space Marines have the chaos gods on their side, while the Space Marines have Games Workshop on their's.
So one has the most corrupt, twisted and souless entities in existance helping them while the other gets the chaos gods.
royemunson is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-08, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Deceiver's Avatar
Deceiver's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 538
Reputation: 1
Default

Some units have a transport option. It simply states under that option that the squad may have a Chaos Rhino dedicated transport. See Chaos rhino transport entry.
Rhino entry says that it can carry up to 10 models. No mention of only sqds numbering 10 or less can only purchase it. It is a transport that all 5-20 of the sqd can use. Example: if the first 10 in it perish,the remaining 10 can still use it.
There is no requirement for the sqd to have to use it. It can drive off wherever it wants to.
Deceiver is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome