Can royal court deepstrike or outflanK? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-22-11, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default Can royal court deepstrike or outflanK?

If I put a Necron lord in with a unit of flayed ones, can they deepstrike/outflank at first I would assume no but theres nothing in the rules saying they cant. Help? I would love to do a conversion for a necron lord that looks like the art for flayed ones with a rez orb jammed in the skulls mouth, plus a warscythe and res orb would add some punch to the unit.


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-22-11, 10:40 PM
Junior Member
 
Konrad_von_Carstein's Avatar
Konrad_von_Carstein's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States of Sylvania
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1
Default

I don't think members of the royal court are allowed to join units of flayed ones. That being said it sounds like a cool conversion.

The blood is the life
Konrad_von_Carstein is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-22-11, 10:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

Unfortunately now that I have checked my codex you are right, they can only join warriors,immortals,lychguard and deathmarks.

This is why I wanted a flayed one special character.


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-22-11, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 703
Reputation: 2
Default

Well the problem with a flayed one special character would be that they are of limited intelligence and cursed by the flesh. Even if one were to arise, the necron royalty would put them down so as to not allow the curse to spread.
Lord Azune is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-11, 12:03 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

Tell that to Sahtah the Enfleshed.


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-11, 12:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 703
Reputation: 2
Default

Refresh my memory, thats the homebrewed character?
Lord Azune is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-11, 02:11 AM
Senior Member
 
oblivion8's Avatar
oblivion8's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Earth, China specifically right now
Posts: 650
Reputation: 1
Default

Would an overlord not be able to join the flayed one unit?
If yes, then you could take a pre existing special character and then convert it into a flayed one SC.

EDIT: Not to mention there is supposedly a entire flayed one kingdom of sorts in the pocket dimension or whatever isn't there? And I think I remember reading about some sort of leader that lives in a palace or something? Then again, maybe I'm just tripping ballz.

"There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty."
Inquisitor Lord Fyodor Karamazov
oblivion8 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-11, 03:19 AM
Wax
Senior Member
 
Wax's Avatar
Wax's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Amurica
Posts: 361
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oblivion8 View Post
Would an overlord not be able to join the flayed one unit?
If yes, then you could take a pre existing special character and then convert it into a flayed one SC.
Nope.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRB p. 48
Special Rules
When an independent character joins a unit, it might have different special rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the ‘stubborn’ special rule), the unit’s special rules are not conferred upon the character, and the character’s special rules are not conferred upon the unit. In some cases though, the independent character or the unit may lose their special rules as a result of the character joining the unit. For example, if an independent character without the ‘infiltrate’ special rule joins a unit of infiltrators during deployment, the unit cannot infiltrate (see the Universal Special Rules section for more details).
So if a Overlord joins a squad of Flayed Ones they lose the Deep Strike rule.

That being said, an Flayed One Overlord would be awesome.
Wax is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-11, 04:33 AM
Senior Member
 
oblivion8's Avatar
oblivion8's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Earth, China specifically right now
Posts: 650
Reputation: 1
Default

Ah yes, I forgot they were mentioning the Lords ability to join as a sgt. type.

That said, you could always not deepstrike the flayed ones xD Don't know how effective that would be though...

"There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty."
Inquisitor Lord Fyodor Karamazov
oblivion8 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-11, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

Sahtah is a flayed one lord from fall of Damnos.


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome