Mind in the Machine - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-15-11, 10:44 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default Mind in the Machine

This is one of Anrakyr the Traveller's new abilities. I just want to make sure I'm reading this correctly. The vehicle cannot alter its facing, and fires as if it had not moved. Am I to assume that this means I can fire all of its weapons now since it will be treated as not having moved? Or can I only fire 1? And also would I be able to shoot Anrakyrs Tachyon Arrow or Command Barge gun regularly after using this ability? If so I'm putting this guy in a command barge and boosting>doing Sweep Attacks>Doing Mind in the Machine Attacks>Disembarking>Command Barge gun attacks>Tachyon Arrow attack> and then possibly assaulting all in the same turn? Also would all these attacks have to be against the same unit?
capnmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-15-11, 11:00 PM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capnmoe View Post
This is one of Anrakyr the Traveller's new abilities. I just want to make sure I'm reading this correctly. The vehicle cannot alter its facing, and fires as if it had not moved. Am I to assume that this means I can fire all of its weapons now since it will be treated as not having moved? Or can I only fire 1? And also would I be able to shoot Anrakyrs Tachyon Arrow or Command Barge gun regularly after using this ability? If so I'm putting this guy in a command barge and boosting>doing Sweep Attacks>Doing Mind in the Machine Attacks>Disembarking>Command Barge gun attacks>Tachyon Arrow attack> and then possibly assaulting all in the same turn? Also would all these attacks have to be against the same unit?
As far as I can tell, you shoot all guns (not moving) and it is not a shooting attack, so you still get your shooting phase. From reading, you don't even get to choose to do it, it just happens.

Edit: The command barge guns are not linked to the characters guns. And the order would be: command barge and boosting>doing Sweep Attacks>Disembarking>Doing Mind in the Machine Attacks>Command Barge gun attacks>Tachyon Arrow attack> and then possibly assaulting all in the same turn, but I am not sure you can boost and disembark. Also, you always have to assault the unit you shot at.


Last edited by lokis222; 11-15-11 at 11:04 PM.
lokis222 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-15-11, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default

You're correct about boosting and disembarking. I had forgotten about that. However, I could still do this at cruising speed.
capnmoe is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-15-11, 11:39 PM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

As I read it, yes. The issue with the tacheyon arrow is that you would have to assault the same target. Other than that you should be fine.

lokis222 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-15-11, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Klaivex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 502
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokis222 View Post
As I read it, yes. The issue with the tacheyon arrow is that you would have to assault the same target. Other than that you should be fine.
Simplest solution is to kill the vehicle you just took over so it can't retaliate. Between the tachion arrow, furious charge, and a warsythe, he is one of the best tank busters the necrons have. Basicaly a living meltabomb in CC if he gets the charge.
Klaivex is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-16-11, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Ravner298's Avatar
Ravner298's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaivex View Post
Simplest solution is to kill the vehicle you just took over so it can't retaliate. Between the tachion arrow, furious charge, and a warsythe, he is one of the best tank busters the necrons have. Basicaly a living meltabomb in CC if he gets the charge.
not to mention his potential in apocalypse games.
Ravner298 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-16-11, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravner298 View Post
not to mention his potential in apocalypse games.
He is hilarious in Apoc but going to get blown away first chance someone gets before their Titan goes rogue.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-16-11, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Ravner298's Avatar
Ravner298's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramoro View Post
He is hilarious in Apoc but going to get blown away first chance someone gets before their Titan goes rogue.
Yeah. People need to play him in apoc while the codex is still new and most don't know what exactly he is capable of.
Ravner298 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-16-11, 12:56 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

I can just see a Reaver Titan blasting away at him frantically like a woman on a chair afraid of a mouse!

"EEEEEECK!! It's Anrakyr!"

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-16-11, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Anrakyr natrual prey is clearly the Titan or Deathstrike Launcher, I mean yes it's hard to fire the Deathstrike but worth it if you succeed.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome