Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - View Single Post - Wraithblades in DE army for newbies
View Single Post
post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-10-15, 10:15 AM
Moriouce

Moriouce's Flag is: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by eae View Post
Hi all,

I am veery slowly building an army of DE. To make things clear, my last updated armylist was for 6th ed. It had archon + 4 incubi in a Venom, 3 trueborns with dark lances, 5x blaster warriors in a venom, 5x warriors with a blaster in a raider and a ravager. This was a mini-list for 750pts games.

Now I am thinking of extending it to 1000, or, why the hell not, even 1250pts. I also wanted to use some of my spare eldar boxes along with it. From everything that I've read from the recent tactics articles, eldar jetbikes are the new venomspam? And I can unleash wraithblades from a DE portal?

So, here's a number of questions, the 1st one being the most important:
1) Wraithblades - swords or axes + shields? I'm a newbie and thus I'm looking for a "usually working" build that I will or will not tweak once I understand what I'm doing. =)
2) Farseer + windrider jetbikes + waithblades, or spiritseer + wraithblades?

Sorry for the messy question, I'm still looking for a decent way to understand what I'm dealing with.

Thanks in advance!

1) What are you most often dealing with? Against armies that has a lot of rending, high strength low ap weapons you should go with axe+Shields. This is also your main load out if you going against TEQ Heavy lists. Swords work best against low strength weapons since you toughness and 3+ save will save you alot. And also against hordlist where the extra attack in CC comes in handy. You don't want 300 Points of wraithblades beeing tarpited by a horde of light infantry for the whole game.