Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - View Single Post - After-School Warhammer Club Secondment!!!
View Single Post
post #9 of (permalink) Old 12-11-13, 07:13 AM
Kreuger
Critique for da CriticGod

Kreuger's Flag is: USA

Hmm, if you're writing a lesson plan you might need to structure those topics and objectives differently. Professionally, I'm actually an instructional designer. Let's start by talking about writing learning objectives. And for that I would highly recommend that you read Bloom's taxonomy of verbs. Which is a system for categorizing the words used to elicit actions or meet expectations at different levels of thinking. Words like acceptance and appreciation don't really convey a concrete learning objective that's directly measurable. You might also want to check out this page on the (ABCD) Audience, Condition, Behavior, and Degree for learning objectives. A really good objective hits all of these.

Let's look at this on a more specific level. Let's say you wanted to teach the turn sequence or the force org chart, there are a number of ways you can do that through playing the game and discussing the experience. Before you ever get there if you wanted to describe the learning objectives for the kids they might go something like . . . .
  • Student-players will memorize the turn sequence in Warhammer 40k and be able to recite it 100% correctly.
  • Given a copy of the main rule book or a codex, student-players will be able to identify the Force organization chart with 80% accuracy.
  • Student-players will memorize the different types of units in the game: HQ, Troops, Elites, Heavy Support, and Fast attack 80% of the time.
  • Given a variety of miniatures in a game situation student-players will be able to identify the force organization chart choice for miniatures in use during a game 80% of the time.

So if we break down the last objective:
  • Audience: student-players
  • Behavior: identify force org choice