blind grenades

 
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.




blind grenades

40k Rules Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Reply With Quote callred is offline
  #1 Old 04-06-11, 03:20 PM blind grenades
callred
Senior Member
callred's Avatar
callred's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 329
Reputation: 1
Default blind grenades

basic one i know - if only the GK GM has blind grenades and hes in a squad of termies do the grenades affect everyone who assaults them - in rules in states the 'unit equipped with defensive grenades'

ta
__________________
5th ed Black Templars W-9, D-4, L-14
4th ed Tourney Grey Knights (Retired) W-3, D-4, L-9
5th ed Grey Knights W-3, D-1, L-5

I KNEW THAT SOMEDAY I WAS GONNA DIE / AND I KNEW BEFORE I DIED TWO THINGS WOULD HAPPEN TO ME / THAT NUMBER ONE I WOULD REGRET MY ENTIRE LIFE / AND NUMBER TWO I WOULD WANT TO LIVE MY LIFE OVER AGAIN


QUOTE BY: HUBERT SELBY JR. (1928-2004)
QUOTED: SOUNDBITE IN OF WALKING ABORTION
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Reply With Quote Aramoro is offline
  #2 Old 04-06-11, 03:49 PM blind grenades
Aramoro
Senior Member
Aramoro's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,879
Reputation: 5


Default

I would say yes, the unit that was assaulted has Defensive grenades so the whole unit benefits.
__________________
Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Vaz is offline
  #3 Old 04-06-11, 03:50 PM blind grenades
Vaz
Senior Member
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12,167
Reputation: 61


Default

It says the unit, not if each model in the unit.

Also think about it - throwing down some grenades will effect the entire unit.
__________________
Heresy Online Football League. yes, you muricans. That means Soccer, even if that is what you wank with/

http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=164474

Enter here to get yourself worldwide notoriety.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Aramoro is offline
  #4 Old 04-06-11, 03:53 PM blind grenades
Aramoro
Senior Member
Aramoro's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,879
Reputation: 5


Default

Thinking about it would normally help but this is GW, Assault grenades are on a model by model basis.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote callred is offline
  #5 Old 04-06-11, 04:16 PM blind grenades
callred
Senior Member
callred's Avatar
callred's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 329
Reputation: 1
Default

thats sorta why i asked in daemonhunters you could only buy frags/kracks for Justicar so only he would go first in assaults against cover - just wondered if it only affected the models in bsb with the GK GM - however it would make sense for the whole unit to benefit from effects

(on a side note yay 301 posts yay )
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Grinnsira is offline
  #6 Old 04-06-11, 06:36 PM blind grenades
Grinnsira
Senior Member
Grinnsira's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,026
Reputation: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by callred View Post
thats sorta why i asked in daemonhunters you could only buy frags/kracks for Justicar so only he would go first in assaults against cover - just wondered if it only affected the models in bsb with the GK GM - however it would make sense for the whole unit to benefit from effects

(on a side note yay 301 posts yay )
The grenades affect the squad so every one assaulting in that unit that has the Justicar in it would go first. Its not like "oh crap the Justicar throw a grenade get down for his attacks then get up to fight everyone else. The assaulted unit all keep their heads down.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Tim/Steve is offline
  #7 Old 04-06-11, 11:42 PM blind grenades
Tim/Steve
WFB Moderator
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8,250
Reputation: 13


Default

No- its been in FAQs before that frag grenades only help the model that carries them... if someone has time on their hands they might be able to go find the entry...

Defensive grenades must affect the whole of the assaulting unit, simply for the reason that if they don't there would have to be additional rules for who loses their bonus attacks and who doesnt... that's a real mess that you could get into discussing that one.
Having it affecting the whole unit really is the only sensible way of playing it.
__________________
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote callred is offline
  #8 Old 04-07-11, 08:20 AM blind grenades
callred
Senior Member
callred's Avatar
callred's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 329
Reputation: 1
Default

thats what I thought - and yes thats why assaulting GK into covered units in old codex was a no no unless from a LRC as everyone got to twat them first
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Herr-Flick is offline
  #9 Old 04-07-11, 08:41 AM blind grenades
Herr-Flick
Senior Member
Herr-Flick's Avatar
Herr-Flick's Flag is: Netherlands
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 172
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
No- its been in FAQs before that frag grenades only help the model that carries them... if someone has time on their hands they might be able to go find the entry...

Defensive grenades must affect the whole of the assaulting unit, simply for the reason that if they don't there would have to be additional rules for who loses their bonus attacks and who doesnt... that's a real mess that you could get into discussing that one.
Having it affecting the whole unit really is the only sensible way of playing it.
Or ofcourse if not the entire unit (or atleast more than half of the unit) has them they dont work?

Edit

Hmmm no let me revise that, if a IC has defencive grenades it can pefectly work only for the member in the unit that are attacking him.
Just as if for instance he would be the only one with assault grenades charging trough terrain.
He would be the only one in the unit attacking on normal initiative he after all for the purpose of cc is considered a seperate unit iirc.
__________________
Sanity is Nothing but an Illusion of the Insane

Please dont mind my spelling, dyslectic Dutchman trying to type

Last edited by Herr-Flick; 04-07-11 at 09:03 AM.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Fallen is offline
  #10 Old 04-07-11, 09:12 AM blind grenades
Fallen
Senior Member
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,370
Reputation: 9


Default

grenades will only effect the model that is carrying Grenades, for instance for CSM if Typhus (who has both assault & defensive grenades) joined a unit of Termies (no grenades) and he granted the whole unit to have O,D grenades itd be insane.

so in short everyone thats B2B with the Grand Master will be effected by the blind grenades. the GM will not be effected by terrain.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3m01iti0n View Post
Id appreciate it if recently updated players didnt complain about getting new stuff. Aww your little heretic Dark Angel plane sucks?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.




vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.