Originally Posted by Tim/Steve
No- its been in FAQs before that frag grenades only help the model that carries them... if someone has time on their hands they might be able to go find the entry...
Defensive grenades must affect the whole of the assaulting unit, simply for the reason that if they don't there would have to be additional rules for who loses their bonus attacks and who doesnt... that's a real mess that you could get into discussing that one.
Having it affecting the whole unit really is the only sensible way of playing it.
Or ofcourse if not the entire unit (or atleast more than half of the unit) has them they dont work?
Hmmm no let me revise that, if a IC has defencive grenades it can pefectly work only for the member in the unit that are attacking him.
Just as if for instance he would be the only one with assault grenades charging trough terrain.
He would be the only one in the unit attacking on normal initiative he after all for the purpose of cc is considered a seperate unit iirc.