Noob question -Scoring Units - Veteran Sterngaurd SM

 
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.




Noob question -Scoring Units - Veteran Sterngaurd SM

40k Rules Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Reply With Quote davechung is offline
  #1 Old 08-04-09, 09:09 AM Noob question -Scoring Units - Veteran Sterngaurd SM
davechung
Member
davechung's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 39
Reputation: 1
Default Noob question -Scoring Units - Veteran Sterngaurd SM

I'm confused about a certain rule involving HQ unit Pedro Kantor and Sternguard Veterans. In the SM codex it states that pairing up Kantor and Sternguards will make that unit a 'scoring unit'. The thing is I thought all units 'score' points anyway when they kill. Does that mean Sternguards cannot score points without Pedro as I can't such a reference in the codex?

Cheers
dave
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Reply With Quote Inquisitor Einar is offline
  #2 Old 08-04-09, 09:13 AM Noob question -Scoring Units - Veteran Sterngaurd SM
Inquisitor Einar
Senior Member
Inquisitor Einar's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,681
Reputation: 1
Default

It means that when playing for objectives, they can claim an objective, Normally only troops can do this, elites, HQs etc. can only contest an objective claimed by your enemy.
__________________
TKE's NTGU Brigade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
Einar is right.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote davechung is offline
  #3 Old 08-04-09, 09:39 AM Noob question -Scoring Units - Veteran Sterngaurd SM
davechung
Member
davechung's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 39
Reputation: 1
Default

Thanks , that makes perfect sense now.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote trog is offline
  #4 Old 08-05-09, 05:58 AM Noob question -Scoring Units - Veteran Sterngaurd SM
trog
Member
trog's Avatar
trog's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 83
Reputation: 1
Default

and that only happen's if you use pedro's chapter tactics ability that gives the army stubborn and sternguard the "hold the line" rule. so for instance you had both shrike & kantor, you would have to use kantors for the scoring sternguard, if you used shrike's you would get fleet and your sternguard wouldn't get the "hold the line"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 AM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.




vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.