drop pods and interceptor

 
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.




drop pods and interceptor

40k Rules Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Reply With Quote kickboxerdog is offline
  #1 Old 06-30-13, 06:35 PM drop pods and interceptor
kickboxerdog
Senior Member
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,281
Reputation: 48


Default drop pods and interceptor

so something come up in a game i couldn't find an answer to as the interceptor shot is done at the end of an enemy's movement phase, and the unit from inside a drop pod is on the table , can i shoot at the unit? all i can find in the brb is that i can shoot a unit that has arrived via reserves this turn , as they have i can shoot them, but im not sure if this is right?

any thoughts or clarification on this.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Reply With Quote Archon Dan is offline
  #2 Old 06-30-13, 07:13 PM drop pods and interceptor
Archon Dan
Senior Member
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,800
Reputation: 17
Default

Yes. You can shoot the unit that came from the Drop Pod. As you said, it arrived from Reserves too. It is in the FAQ somewhere too. Depending on the weapon with Interceptor, shooting at the disembarked unit is often better than shooting the Drop Pod.
__________________
"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote ntaw is offline
  #3 Old 06-30-13, 09:39 PM drop pods and interceptor
ntaw
Senior Member
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,883
Reputation: 41
Default

Unless there's a missile launcher in the drop pod you may as well ignore it. I would say shooting at the squad that has also arrived from reserve is the better option as well.

I have recently gotten a lot pickier as to when I use the Interceptor rule and when I don't. Sometimes it's worth it to put that gun on a better target that might not be flying or arriving from reserves in your following shooting phase. If only we could just shoot both times every time...
__________________
Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

My BA Project Log
My DW Project Log
My IF Project Log
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Magpie_Oz is offline
  #4 Old 06-30-13, 10:15 PM drop pods and interceptor
Magpie_Oz
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,891
Reputation: 74


Default

The Grey Knight FAQ helps clarify this one

Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore,
count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been
Expecting You special rule? (p45)
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be
able to fire once at each unit.

So although Coteaz' Special Rule is not Interceptor it does clarify the status of a unit disembarking a drop pod. I'd also suggest that Coteaz gets to fire on the Drop Pod before the unit disembarks.

As for firing twice .... well if Coteaz' unit is on a Quad gun they can fire at the Drop Pod, the squad when it gets out and then AGAIN at the end of the phase !

I'm sure that is a loop hole that will be closed.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Fallen is offline
  #5 Old 06-30-13, 11:43 PM drop pods and interceptor
Fallen
Senior Member
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,339
Reputation: 8


Default

we have always played it so we can shoot the guys inside, it makes the most sense.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3m01iti0n View Post
Id appreciate it if recently updated players didnt complain about getting new stuff. Aww your little heretic Dark Angel plane sucks?
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Archon Dan is offline
  #6 Old 07-01-13, 06:07 AM drop pods and interceptor
Archon Dan
Senior Member
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,800
Reputation: 17
Default

Well. You aren't shooting at the guys inside the Drop Pod. They have disembarked by the time you get to fire.

That getting 3 shots is messed up Magpie. Hopefully Coteaz will be amended to just give the Interceptor rule to his unit.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote kickboxerdog is offline
  #7 Old 07-02-13, 01:08 PM drop pods and interceptor
kickboxerdog
Senior Member
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,281
Reputation: 48


Default

alos another question is the shot limited to shots that are non template , or can things like plasma cannons, and that fire i ask because both my riptides have ion accelerators and interceptor and skyfire
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Magpie_Oz is offline
  #8 Old 07-02-13, 01:12 PM drop pods and interceptor
Magpie_Oz
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,891
Reputation: 74


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
That getting 3 shots is messed up Magpie. Hopefully Coteaz will be amended to just give the Interceptor rule to his unit.
For the love of God leave us SOME cheese !

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickboxerdog View Post
alos another question is the shot limited to shots that are non template , or can things like plasma cannons, and that fire i ask because both my riptides have ion accelerators and interceptor and skyfire
Shots fired by Interceptor are just normal shooting attacks so any weapon can be fired.

I am fairly confident that only 1 weapon can be fired however as most rules that allow 2 weapons to be fired do stipulate the shooting phase.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote kickboxerdog is offline
  #9 Old 07-02-13, 01:28 PM drop pods and interceptor
kickboxerdog
Senior Member
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,281
Reputation: 48


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post

Shots fired by Interceptor are just normal shooting attacks so any weapon can be fired.

I am fairly confident that only 1 weapon can be fired however as most rules that allow 2 weapons to be fired do stipulate the shooting phase.
ok cool cool i would tend to only fire the str 8 ap2 large blast , should take out most things coming out a drop pod lol
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote ntaw is offline
  #10 Old 07-02-13, 02:14 PM drop pods and interceptor
ntaw
Senior Member
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,883
Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickboxerdog View Post
ok cool cool i would tend to only fire the str 8 ap2 large blast , should take out most things coming out a drop pod lol
That it should. The limits of blast templates you're thinking of comes from when firing at fliers. Then you can't use any template or beam weapon. Since the drop pod and squad inside don't have that restriction and neither does Interceptor, you're golden in this scenario. Just don't go blowing any zooming fliers out of the sky with that S8 AP2 blast and you're fine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.




vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.