Help with banner wording

 
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Warhammer Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer Fantasy rules queries here.




Help with banner wording

Warhammer Rules Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Reply With Quote Lord Rahl is offline
  #1 Old 01-07-12, 09:53 AM Help with banner wording
Lord Rahl
Senior Member
Lord Rahl's Avatar
Lord Rahl's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 632
Reputation: 1
Default Help with banner wording

So upon looking through the bretonnian book today i came across the magic banner called 'BANNER OF THE LADY'.

I am unsure of how this works according to the new 8th rules, as far as i can tell there are a numbber of interpretations, all of which are valid, but i would like to try and cut it down to get a definitive answer.

The wording in the description is as follows: "All enemy units with at least one model in base contact with the bearer of the banner of the lady get no combat bonus for ranks"

At first i thought it was just combat res but thinking about it a horde gets combat bonus for ranks of 10 models, would this be true? Steadfast is a type of rank bonus, so therefor would it be negated?

Please help with my thoughts and Comment or just tell me i have over thought the wording.
__________________
All mon-keigh must die
We who are about to die, Salute you!

http://www.facebook.com/prettypreciousjewellery
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Reply With Quote khrone forever is offline
  #2 Old 01-07-12, 10:22 AM Help with banner wording
khrone forever
Senior Member
khrone forever's Avatar
khrone forever's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,186
Reputation: 8


Default

is it on the GW FAQ or not, check that first
__________________
40Kprayers and benedictions

see my guard army here

see my Empire army
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Dave T Hobbit is online now
  #3 Old 01-07-12, 11:07 AM Help with banner wording
Dave T Hobbit
Tzeentch laughs at likely
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7,850
Reputation: 40


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khrone forever View Post
is it on the GW FAQ or not, check that first
Unhelpfully it does not seem to be.
__________________
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote khrone forever is offline
  #4 Old 01-07-12, 11:09 AM Help with banner wording
khrone forever
Senior Member
khrone forever's Avatar
khrone forever's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,186
Reputation: 8


Default

ah damn, not sure then
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Lord Rahl is offline
  #5 Old 01-07-12, 11:18 AM Help with banner wording
Lord Rahl
Senior Member
Lord Rahl's Avatar
Lord Rahl's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 632
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khrone forever View Post
is it on the GW FAQ or not, check that first
This was the first place i checked, its abit of a silly rule if what i presume is correct. Makes it way OP, but then again it is 100pts.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Lord Azune is offline
  #6 Old 01-07-12, 11:28 AM Help with banner wording
Lord Azune
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 703
Reputation: 2


Default

Judging from the 7th ed rules which it was written for: It means combat resolution bonus, given that I can't find a rule for steadfast.

In 8th ed rules I would assume it should follow the spirit of the item. But since there is no official FAQ on it, you can do whatever you want between you and your folks.
__________________
Hive Fleet Tarasque/The Black Legion of Khemri
Battles: 13/3
Wins: 8/2
Minor Wins: 0/0
Minor Losses: 1/0
Losses: 4/1


Quote:
Originally Posted by D-A-C View Post
Tzeentch runs GW.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Deathypoo is offline
  #7 Old 01-07-12, 03:41 PM Help with banner wording
Deathypoo
Senior Member
Deathypoo's Avatar
Deathypoo's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
Reputation: 3
Default

The spirit of the item probably only applies to the direct rank bonus, not steadfast or anything else. The only way to make that argument using RAW though, is if you consider "bonus" to be an official game term as opposed to just the word they use a lot when talking about combat results. Second paragraph on the p.52 BRB would be what I'd point to if I were arguing it.

Personal opinion: 100 points to get up to +3 combat rez every turn sounds about right even with no other benefits. If the banner was intended to also counter numbers (steadfast), it would have also said that enemies can't count the "outnumber" bonus from 7th.
Reply With Quote

Reply With Quote Wolf_Lord_Skoll is offline
  #8 Old 01-08-12, 09:18 AM Help with banner wording
Wolf_Lord_Skoll
Senior Member
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Avatar
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,505
Reputation: 1


Default

High Elves Battle Banner is up around the same cost and gives +D6, so it would seem fair.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles > Warhammer Rules Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.




vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.