Table design - wetlands - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-13-09, 07:06 PM Thread Starter

Default Table design - wetlands

so im fairly new to the game, totally addicted at this point. :p I have a spare room in the back of my house i am going to convert into a game room, and have started building my first 40k table.

I actually have 2 table themes in mind, a wetlands theme, which i think will be the 'home field' for my orks, and an urban ruins theme that will be the home field for my space marines.

I figured I would start with the wetlands, because its easyer, and will get some practice in for me. I'm building the table to be 4' x 8'. and the environments will be modular, so im using 2' x 2' pieces of wood as my table tiles. I made an orthographic drawing in photoshop, I put all my tiles on there own layer so I could move them around in 2D and get a good feel for how flexible the design would be. After looking at these, Ive decided that the stone 'ruins' will be removable, and I'll just place flat stonework on that terrain instead. that way I can build up modular ruins in any shape I like later.

anyway, heres the test box of terrain I did for the look and materials of the big table, and the orthographic drawings I did for it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 002a.jpg (187.6 KB, 130 views)
File Type: jpg 002b.jpg (113.2 KB, 129 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3539.jpg (168.3 KB, 146 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3541.jpg (152.8 KB, 200 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-14-09, 08:45 AM

Imperial Dragon's Flag is: Australia

Dude that's sweet, i like it how you can change the battle field around.

What will you be making the swamps etc out of?

How ironic it is that as fast as we spread progress and hope throughout the galaxy, the Tyranids spread death and despair. Only united can we hope to stand against them.

Aun'shi of the Tau Empire