Emperor's Blade and CAD - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-07-16, 03:11 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15


Default Emperor's Blade and CAD

Can I take the following and still be bound?

Emperor's Blade
CCS in chimera
3 x vet squad in chimera
Hellhound

Priest
10 x bullgryns, power maul and brute shields
Stormlord

This would be a bound army, as is, but do I get the benefits of clear the area and objective secured from the Blade formation?

Thanks!

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-16, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,174
Reputation: 96


Default

Why wouldn't you get the benefits from the Formation if you're playing it with the correct unit options, or are you asking if the Bullgryn from another Formation get it as well..?

I'd still rather take a CAD for ObSec on my vehicles as well.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-16, 12:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
I'd still rather take a CAD for ObSec on my vehicles as well.
Great point! I didn't even think about that! I was asking whether it was a legal bound list that would get the bonuses from the formation, but it's a moot point because I want the vehicle with obj secure, not just the troops. I had forgot about that.

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-16, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,174
Reputation: 96


Default

Are you wondering if you still get the bonuses for the super Formation of Formations? On that front you need at least one Core choice where you currently have two Auxiliary choices.

But yeah, CAD for Guard in my life until we get a 7th edition Codex with more useable unit requirements.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-16, 03:04 PM
Senior Moderator
 
darkreever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, little ways out of NYC
Posts: 6,876
Reputation: 25


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HokieHWT View Post
Can I take the following and still be bound?

***
CCS in chimera
3 x vet squad in chimera
Hellhound

Priest
10 x bullgryns, power maul and brute shields
Stormlord
Yes, but take note of the change I made in order to do so

Quote:
Originally Posted by HokieHWT View Post
This would be a bound army, as is, but do I get the benefits of clear the area and objective secured from the Blade formation?
Unfortunately the answer is no, this would not be a bound army as is if you wanted to get the formation benefits.

The Emperor's blade formation consists of the hellhound, mounted vets, and company command squad and would be considered a detachment in its own right. If you were then to take the bullgryns, priest, and stormlord as part of a CAD the units within the Emperor's Blade are not counted towards your core requirments (the HQ and troop choices.)

So you would either need to take all the units in a CAD to be bound, or be playing an unbound list.

Damnation is paved on good intentions; subtle and sugar coated or blunt and honest
A hero is someone who steps up when everyone else backs down.
Popularity is what people strive for when they lack the strength to be themselves.


Seriously, is it really that hard to write reviews without spoilers?

Reporting Posts - read this
darkreever is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Army Lists > Imperial Guard Army Lists

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome