Can't decide on starting army - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

2Likes
  • 1 Post By Fallen
  • 1 Post By Lord of the Night

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-16-16, 09:19 AM Thread Starter

Default Can't decide on starting army

Hello!

I am new to tabletop war games and Can't decide between several armies.
My friend and myself have agreed to an 850 point army; I know he is getting tau.
The armies that I would like to play include:

Chaos Daemons (Mainly Tzeentch, I like the screamer model, the good psychic phase, the invulnerable saves and option of deep striking)
Tyranids (Flying hive tyrants are a nice model, but I don't want to spam them)
Genestelear cults (Very expensive right now, but seem fun to play and have nice models)
Imperial Guard (Nice tanks, lots of people. Hammerhead gunships will be rather annoying.)

I Don't need to win all of the games, but don't want to loose them all either. I don't want to have a completely broken army or have to spam a unit to make the army work.

I have a budget of around 210 GBP; it seems to be enough to get a decent small army.

Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for the advice!

Edit: I just realised there weren't any questions!
What would you recommend out of these armies? Which would you say is the most beginner friendly? Which would not utterly fail against a tau army?

Last edited by Tectiviride; 11-16-16 at 09:22 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-16-16, 08:03 PM

Fallen's Flag is: USA

None of those armies are what I would describe as "beginner friendly" out of all of those I would probably say Imperial Guard...as I think that they would have the least harsh learning curve.