Wolf tail talisman - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-07-11, 12:41 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 358
Reputation: 3
Default Wolf tail talisman

Found an interesting situation recently that i cant find a solid answer to.

wolf tail talisman says any psychic power that effects this unit is nullified on a 5+ or something. (dont have quote on me)

Lets say a psyker battle squad fired a large blast psychic attack at a unit and it scattered off that unit onto a unit with a talisman. Is it nullfied?

Now lets say that it scatters onto the unit with the talisman but is still touching the target unit that is without a talisman. How does that work?
paddlepop lion is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-07-11, 03:10 AM
Dark Knight
sybarite's Avatar
sybarite's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aus
Posts: 985
Reputation: 1


all depends on the wording mate,

now l don't play SW but they have a few of these items and skills so this is how it works in the games l played with my GK.

some say the Target unit, where it lands or cast from and if it effects.

for example

Stormcaller has his "anyone who cast within in 24 incs" so it does not matter as long as the user cast within 24 for him.

with talisman if the unit gets a "effected by the psychic skill" so if you cast a buff on your self it won't trigger. However if part of the spell lands or "effects" that unit (even while still hitting a unit without it) with the talisman and he pass his 5+ then its gone.

other's say "spells targeting the unit" so if you target one unit and it just happens to scatter on to the other unit with this rule it does not matter because it did not "target them"

like l said before l don't own a SW dex so l can't check the wording but next time recheck your friends, it should be clear :D.

My Chaos Army
http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...m/P1060039.jpg you can see them all in the the heresy gallery under WoC
sybarite is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-07-11, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
Wax's Avatar
Wax's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Amurica
Posts: 361
Reputation: 2

It say's if the unit is effected the power is nullified on a 5+. So I'd say yet, you could roll in all cases.
Wax is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-07-11, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
Aramoro's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5


And with that if it hit 2 units one with the Talisman and one without then if you make the roll it nullifies the power so it will affect neither unit. If both units had one you would get 2 shots to nullify the power.


"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome