Death From the Skies and 40K February FAQ Updates - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Wargaming News and 40k Rumors Discuss and share wargaming news, new releases, warhammer and 40k rumors here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-16-13, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11


Default Death From the Skies and 40K February FAQ Updates

Updated FAQs for some armies are out

Grab em here

Seems to be Fliers only updates and a cheap way to force people into buying that new fliers compendium.

Oh look, the Death From the Skies FAQ is out, before anyone has even received the book...
New record?

Death From the Skies FAQ

Here are ALL the updates from all the updated FAQs.
Rulebook Update:
Reference Section – Profile, Codex: Space Marines –
Vehicles, Stormtalon Gunship.
Change unit type to Vehicle (Flyer, Hover).

Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e .
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.

Ork Update:
White Dwarf June 2012 (WD390)
Updated rules for the Ork Dakkajet, Burna-bommer and Blitzabommer
can be found in the Death From the Skies compendium.

Space Marines Update:
White Dwarf June 2012 (UK WD390)
Updated rules for the Stormtalon Gunship and Stormraven
Gunship can be found in the Death From the Skies compendium.

Blood Angels Update:
Page 38/94 – Stormraven Gunships, Skies of Blood.
Replace this rule with the following:
Skies of Fury: If the Stormraven has moved more than 6",
passengers can still disembark, but they must do so as follows:
Nominate any point over which the Stormraven moved that
turn and deploy the squad as if it were deep striking onto that
point. If the unit scatters, every disembarking model must
immediately take a Dangerous Terrain test. If any of the
models cannot be deployed, the entire unit is destroyed, as per
a Terrible Accident result on the Deep Strike Mishap table.
Models that disembark using the Skies of Fury special rule
cannot charge in the turn that they do so.

Page 38/94 – Stormraven Gunship, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Q:What happens to an embarked Dreadnought that suffers an
Immobilised result from the hit when the Stormraven it is
embarked in Explodes? (p37)
A: The Immobilised Dreadnought is placed within 3" of the
large blast marker, as per the Crash and Burn rules.

Dark Eldar Update:
Page 46/93 – Razorwing Jetfighter, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Page 47/93 – Voidraven Bomber, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Grey Knights Update:
Page 37/93 – Stormraven Gunships, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Page 37/93 – Stormraven Gunships, Shadow Skies.
Replace this rule with the following:

Skies of Fury: If the Stormraven has moved more than 6",
passengers can still disembark, but they must do so as follows:
Nominate any point over which the Stormraven moved that
turn and deploy the squad as if it were deep striking onto that
point. If the unit scatters, every disembarking model must
immediately take a Dangerous Terrain test. If any of the
models cannot be deployed, the entire unit is destroyed, as per
a Terrible Accident result on the Deep Strike Mishap table.
Models that disembark using the Skies of Fury special rule
cannot charge in the turn that they do so.

Q:What happens to an embarked Dreadnought that suffers an
Immobilised result from the hit when the Stormraven it is
embarked in Explodes? (p37)
A: The Immobilised Dreadnought is placed within 3" of the
large blast marker, as per the Crash and Burn rules.

Imperial Guard Update:
Page 56/101 – Valkyrie Assault Carrier, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike and Scout special rules.

Page 56/101 – Vendetta Gunship, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike and Scout special rules.

Necrons Update:
Page 50/95 – Doom Scythe, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Page 51/91 – Night Scythe, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Last edited by MadCowCrazy; 02-18-13 at 06:02 PM.
MadCowCrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-16-13, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,661
Reputation: 18


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCowCrazy View Post
Seems to be Fliers only updates and a cheap way to force people into buying that new fliers compendium.
yup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #3 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-16-13, 09:02 PM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,379
Reputation: 103


Default

Very nice find MCC! I didn't even see this until someone pointed it out in the Flyer thread.
Zion is offline  
post #4 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-16-13, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Necrosis's Avatar
Necrosis's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Delta
Posts: 2,137
Reputation: 5


Default

Guess the avenger got a whole lot better.

This is Nightmare Batman and he's coming to get you!

To play as Nightmare Batman click here
Necrosis is offline  
post #5 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-16-13, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 5,926
Reputation: 92


Default

The change to dreadnoughts not being removed outright from immobilized results after a Stormraven gets blown up is a pretty nice gesture. I guess it reflects that the immobilization could have occurred on landing as opposed to in the blast.

Ultimately, just an update to make you want to read the new Fliers book for sure. Oh, and let's not forget the ultimate change of the names of Shadow Skies and Skies of Blood to Skies of Fury. Shiver me tits.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Related Projects
ntaw is online now  
post #6 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-16-13, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17


Default

Knew I should have posted here instead of General 40K. But it only applies to that game and I still beat you to it. Heehee.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #7 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-17-13, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Mathai's Avatar
Mathai's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 333
Reputation: 1
Default

Question: Does this new ruling, the Skies of Fury, mean that Grey Knight Interceptors no longer have their incredibly precise descent?

Mathai is offline  
post #8 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-17-13, 05:52 AM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathai View Post
Question: Does this new ruling, the Skies of Fury, mean that Grey Knight Interceptors no longer have their incredibly precise descent?
GW "Who knows, we do have this awesome new book about fliers out! Maybe the answer can be found in it?!"

MadCowCrazy is offline  
post #9 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-17-13, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Mathai's Avatar
Mathai's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 333
Reputation: 1
Default

Then I shall pretend to be interested in purchasing the book long enough to browse 'random' pages that coincidentally have the answer to my question. ;)

...Of course it'll probably be shrinkwrapped >.<

Mathai is offline  
post #10 of 91 (permalink) Old 02-17-13, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathai View Post
Question: Does this new ruling, the Skies of Fury, mean that Grey Knight Interceptors no longer have their incredibly precise descent?
Unit special/specific rules that apply during Deep Strike still apply. Descent of Angels affects Blood Angel jump units whether they Deep Strike or disembark as if Deep Striking. So they still scatter only D6. Of course, even jump units take dangerous tests now if they scatter. So much for Jump Packs slowing the drop. So if the Interceptors had the rule it still applies.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Wargaming News, New Releases and Information > Wargaming News and 40k Rumors

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome