Gentlecolts, Bronies, and pega-sises, I would like to talk about modding - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Video Games & Software For the discussion of P.C, Console and Hand Held video games.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 10-03-11, 09:46 PM Thread Starter

VK-Duelist's Flag is: USA

Default Gentlecolts, Bronies, and pega-sises, I would like to talk about modding

Gentlecolts, I've been reading up on game design, reading several articles, and of course, have a passion of gaming. I honestly and without a doubt in my mind, heart, and metaphorical soul, I want to begin the long, hard, and slippery path of game development whether it'll make me even more of a black sheep in my family. Sadly, I have basic programming knowledge in the fields of Python and Visual Basic and have no idea how to begin. I already written down notes about my vision of making a single player survival horror FPS mod on CSS (Counter Strike Source) that combines game play elements of the original Resident Evil (Namely the puzzle parts), lack of ammo (mainly from Dead Space where I developed my love for pimp smacking Necromorphs), and some "old school" FPS staple such as having to hunt for health/ med packs, no regeneration, and of course, ridiculous amount of weapons you can have. I'm also hopeful that I could add in (though this probably will be hard as hell to code) enemies that appear to be part of the background/props but are actually waiting for you to turn around and then attack you. Namely dolls.... Yeah.... I'm going back to the types of enemies from the original Castlevania. (A freaking amazing platformer if you ask me.) Can anyone point me to the direction of a nice guide or something? Namely something on Counter Strike Source?