What is the best gaming computer? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Video Games & Software For the discussion of P.C, Console and Hand Held video games.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-18-09, 09:21 PM Thread Starter

Spot The Grot's Flag is: United Kingdom

What is the best gaming computer?

As the title says. I'm not good with naming parts of a computer i think its the desktop?Whatever is the big box that you put your cd's in and has a on/off switch.

Anyway what is the best gaming computer?

I heard alienware were good but ive also heard that they are bad.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-18-09, 09:48 PM

WoRLoKKeD's Flag is: United Kingdom

If you're intending to buy a powerhouse that's pre-built, instead of doing the smart thing and putting together your own, I'd personally go for one of the Dell XPS series instead of Alienware.
The exact same hardware for half the price.

Alternatively, check out some of the bundles on overclockers.co.uk and scan.co.uk.

However, personally? You can build something amazing for £350. If not less.

AMD AM2+ motherboard, Phenom X3 at something like 2.6GHz+ (You're looking about £100 total here if you shop about)

4GB RAM (Don't go for gaming RAM, it's not worth it. However, going for OCZ may be worth it just for the lifetime warranty. That pays for itself if cocks go skyward) and that'll be about £50-£60 if you shop about. DDR2 is cheap and I personally say go for it over DDR3.

Graphics? Not a problem. If you want something relatively cheap that will stomp anything but the most ridiculous game, I'd personally go for the 8800GT or GTX (though the 9 series runs slightly cooler, to my knowledge) If the motherboard you choose can handle it and you have the overhead, get two and SLI them. (Again. shop around. Should be able to find two at something like £70 each)