Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Grey Knights

742 views 9 replies 10 participants last post by  godzy 
#1 ·
Im new to warhammer 40000.
I started playing when the games-workshop store in Antwerp opened.
Im 16 and have never painted be4.
I want to play grey knights.
What list should I use to win a lot?
Are they hard too paint?

#3 ·
Grey Knights are good army - they play very similar to Eldar lists, but without some of their funky rules.

The typical solid Grey Knight list is based around 2 Land Raiders, 2 Tactical Grey Knight Squads, a Terminator Hero, and a Bodyguard. That's 1000 Pts, and good at taking on quite a bit.

They are unfortunately expensive models, and in game, so it'll hurt if one dies, but there's no denying their effectiveness.

However, due to their model size, being Fearless, and general weakness (you're paying nearly double for a person that's not tougher than a Marine).

To win, Tyranid's do well, Eldar, and Orks are your best bet.

#4 ·
I don't think you should settle for a list that you don't like just to win with. Use an army that you like and learn to win with it. So you can at least find that the list your playing with is fun and enjoyable. Isn't that the meaning of the game...to have fun?

Sure Grey Knights have a hard learning curve but when you learn how to use them, they are a force to be reckoned with.

#5 ·
Not to counter anything Vaz has said, as he knows what he is talking about (most of the time :laugh:), but winning isn't always about having the 'best win' army. Its about strategy. The better you know your codex and your army list, the more comfortable you are with them, and the better you know how to handle them on the battlefield within the rules, the better you are the game and more likely to win.

As for difficulty to paint, that is all you.

#6 ·