Three Color Minimum Rule - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-08, 04:22 AM Thread Starter

Three Color Minimum Rule

So, this summer i started playing 40k with 'nids, and have been having a great time. I just found out that my local store at school is starting 40k as well, and that they're going to be having a RTT in February. When i heard this i was really excited, but doing some research I've become concerned.

I've read that all models in a RTT need to be painted, and that most tournaments require a "Three Color Minimum." Now, all my models are painted, but I'm not sure if they would technically meet this. See, when i started i was a pretty awful painter, and wanted a simple paint scheme that could still look good. After a bit of research, i decided on a sort of inverted hive fleet leviathan look with a black prime, skull white and lich purple detail, and finally a coat of wood varnish. I used a pretty dark varnish, with the end result being that the purple portions were substantially darkened, and that there were a lot of brown splotches over the white parts. I know it sounds awful looking, and i don't have any pictures on me to prove otherwise, but while i know my model's won't win any painting contests, most people I've talked to seem to think they look pretty good for a first army (I am planning on doing something more detailed if i ever get around to making a second one).