The Movie Review Thread - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Television and Movies Discuss TV, Movies, Sitcoms and anything else related here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-31-09, 03:42 PM Thread Starter

Calamari's Flag is: United Kingdom

Default The Movie Review Thread

Hi guys,

My Student President has asked me to write a column in a new Uni newspaper that is being sety up at my uni. I've never done any kind of journalism before but El Presidente is my firend so I'm gonna give it a go. Basicaly he wants me to write film reviews. So without hesitation I said yes and trugded down to my nearest cinema, girlfriend in tow, to watch "The Watchmen". Im posting a review here mainly for lols but any critism is welcome .

Here goes (minor spoilers follow):

What: The Watchman

Who:
Malin Akerman (Slutty)
Billy Crudup (Godlike)
Mathew Goode (Rich)
Jackie Earle Haley (Scary)
Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Mad)
Patrick Wilson (Wimpy)

Plot: Watchmen is set in an alternate reality where costumed superheroes (or masks) are a part of everyday life. The main story takes place in 1985 and the build up to the Soviet Invasion of Afgahnistan.

The Comedian (Morgan) is murdered and a fellow "hero" Rorschach (Haley) begins an investigation into the death while contacting a group of ex super heroes known as the "Watchmen" to which Rorschach himself belongs. Cue classic film noir private eye story arch with a fairly grusome anti-hero.

Meanwhile fellow watchmen Dr Manhattan and Ozymendias are working on a a limitless and free form of energy in an effort to make war for rescources obselete. This angers the resident captains of industry who try to blackmail Ozymendias with Communism charges.

While Ozymendias is dealing with buisnessman, Dr Manhatten is becoming more divorced from his humanity and his relationship with Laurie Jupiter (Akerman) aka the Silk Specter begins to suffer leading to their eventual breakup.