blind grenades - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-11, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
callred's Avatar
callred's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 329
Reputation: 1
Default blind grenades

basic one i know - if only the GK GM has blind grenades and hes in a squad of termies do the grenades affect everyone who assaults them - in rules in states the 'unit equipped with defensive grenades'

ta

5th ed Black Templars W-9, D-4, L-14
4th ed Tourney Grey Knights (Retired) W-3, D-4, L-9
5th ed Grey Knights W-3, D-1, L-5

I KNEW THAT SOMEDAY I WAS GONNA DIE / AND I KNEW BEFORE I DIED TWO THINGS WOULD HAPPEN TO ME / THAT NUMBER ONE I WOULD REGRET MY ENTIRE LIFE / AND NUMBER TWO I WOULD WANT TO LIVE MY LIFE OVER AGAIN


QUOTE BY: HUBERT SELBY JR. (1928-2004)
QUOTED: SOUNDBITE IN OF WALKING ABORTION
callred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-11, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,879
Reputation: 5


Default

I would say yes, the unit that was assaulted has Defensive grenades so the whole unit benefits.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-11, 03:50 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 13,058
Reputation: 79


Default

It says the unit, not if each model in the unit.

Also think about it - throwing down some grenades will effect the entire unit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-11, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,879
Reputation: 5


Default

Thinking about it would normally help but this is GW, Assault grenades are on a model by model basis.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-11, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
callred's Avatar
callred's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 329
Reputation: 1
Default

thats sorta why i asked in daemonhunters you could only buy frags/kracks for Justicar so only he would go first in assaults against cover - just wondered if it only affected the models in bsb with the GK GM - however it would make sense for the whole unit to benefit from effects

(on a side note yay 301 posts yay )

5th ed Black Templars W-9, D-4, L-14
4th ed Tourney Grey Knights (Retired) W-3, D-4, L-9
5th ed Grey Knights W-3, D-1, L-5

I KNEW THAT SOMEDAY I WAS GONNA DIE / AND I KNEW BEFORE I DIED TWO THINGS WOULD HAPPEN TO ME / THAT NUMBER ONE I WOULD REGRET MY ENTIRE LIFE / AND NUMBER TWO I WOULD WANT TO LIVE MY LIFE OVER AGAIN


QUOTE BY: HUBERT SELBY JR. (1928-2004)
QUOTED: SOUNDBITE IN OF WALKING ABORTION
callred is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-11, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Grinnsira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Reputation: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by callred View Post
thats sorta why i asked in daemonhunters you could only buy frags/kracks for Justicar so only he would go first in assaults against cover - just wondered if it only affected the models in bsb with the GK GM - however it would make sense for the whole unit to benefit from effects

(on a side note yay 301 posts yay )
The grenades affect the squad so every one assaulting in that unit that has the Justicar in it would go first. Its not like "oh crap the Justicar throw a grenade get down for his attacks then get up to fight everyone else. The assaulted unit all keep their heads down.
Grinnsira is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-11, 11:42 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,250
Reputation: 13


Default

No- its been in FAQs before that frag grenades only help the model that carries them... if someone has time on their hands they might be able to go find the entry...

Defensive grenades must affect the whole of the assaulting unit, simply for the reason that if they don't there would have to be additional rules for who loses their bonus attacks and who doesnt... that's a real mess that you could get into discussing that one.
Having it affecting the whole unit really is the only sensible way of playing it.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-07-11, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
callred's Avatar
callred's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 329
Reputation: 1
Default

thats what I thought - and yes thats why assaulting GK into covered units in old codex was a no no unless from a LRC as everyone got to twat them first

5th ed Black Templars W-9, D-4, L-14
4th ed Tourney Grey Knights (Retired) W-3, D-4, L-9
5th ed Grey Knights W-3, D-1, L-5

I KNEW THAT SOMEDAY I WAS GONNA DIE / AND I KNEW BEFORE I DIED TWO THINGS WOULD HAPPEN TO ME / THAT NUMBER ONE I WOULD REGRET MY ENTIRE LIFE / AND NUMBER TWO I WOULD WANT TO LIVE MY LIFE OVER AGAIN


QUOTE BY: HUBERT SELBY JR. (1928-2004)
QUOTED: SOUNDBITE IN OF WALKING ABORTION
callred is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-07-11, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Herr-Flick's Avatar
Herr-Flick's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 172
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
No- its been in FAQs before that frag grenades only help the model that carries them... if someone has time on their hands they might be able to go find the entry...

Defensive grenades must affect the whole of the assaulting unit, simply for the reason that if they don't there would have to be additional rules for who loses their bonus attacks and who doesnt... that's a real mess that you could get into discussing that one.
Having it affecting the whole unit really is the only sensible way of playing it.
Or ofcourse if not the entire unit (or atleast more than half of the unit) has them they dont work?

Edit

Hmmm no let me revise that, if a IC has defencive grenades it can pefectly work only for the member in the unit that are attacking him.
Just as if for instance he would be the only one with assault grenades charging trough terrain.
He would be the only one in the unit attacking on normal initiative he after all for the purpose of cc is considered a seperate unit iirc.

Sanity is Nothing but an Illusion of the Insane

Please dont mind my spelling, dyslectic Dutchman trying to type

Last edited by Herr-Flick; 04-07-11 at 09:03 AM.
Herr-Flick is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-07-11, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,661
Reputation: 18


Default

grenades will only effect the model that is carrying Grenades, for instance for CSM if Typhus (who has both assault & defensive grenades) joined a unit of Termies (no grenades) and he granted the whole unit to have O,D grenades itd be insane.

so in short everyone thats B2B with the Grand Master will be effected by the blind grenades. the GM will not be effected by terrain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is online now  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome