Land Raider Deep Strike - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-26-10, 11:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stooge92's Avatar
stooge92's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 454
Reputation: 1
Default Land Raider Deep Strike

Hey, this might be answered with a simple read of the codex, but i dont have it on me
when a land raider deep strikes, how far does it count as moving if a unit assaults it? do you go off how far it scatters or something? or is it always cruising speed because it just crashed into the ground?
stooge92 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-26-10, 11:54 PM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,525
Reputation: 1


Default

Cruising speed.
Just like any other vehicle that deep strikes.


KingOfCheese is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,872
Reputation: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
Cruising speed.
Just like any other vehicle that deep strikes.
This.
And the guys inside can't assault.
Winterous is offline  
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 04:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Imperious's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 839
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
This.
And the guys inside can't assault.
This.
But they can shoot.


I support Exterminatus.
Imperious is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
jfvz's Avatar
jfvz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 322
Reputation: 1


Default

wait a moment, since when can land raiders DS? Pritty sure the CSM 1 cant...
jfvz is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 05:00 AM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,525
Reputation: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfvz View Post
wait a moment, since when can land raiders DS? Pritty sure the CSM 1 cant...
Blood Angels.

Been living under a rock have we?


KingOfCheese is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
AngelofDeath's Avatar
AngelofDeath's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Small Town, USA
Posts: 165
Reputation: 1
Default

One of the great things about them hehe

Blood Angels Army: 7250 pts. (no upgrades included)
Orks: 2000 pts.


Penguin of DOOM! haha

BA W-2/D-2/L-1
Orks W-0/D-0/L-0
AngelofDeath is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 05:06 AM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,525
Reputation: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelofDeath View Post
One of the great things about them hehe
Not really.
I find the ability to be extremely pointless.

You cant assault after deep striking, and it is EXTREMELY prone to mishaps due to its size.

A Drop Pod does the EXACT same job, is a LOT more reliable, and is a LOT cheaper.


KingOfCheese is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,872
Reputation: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
Not really.
I find the ability to be extremely pointless.

You cant assault after deep striking, and it is EXTREMELY prone to mishaps due to its size.

A Drop Pod does the EXACT same job, is a LOT more reliable, and is a LOT cheaper.
The only real use for it I can see is dropping a Redeemer right next to a squad, and scorching it (using POTMS); but even then it's a bit of a waste of points.
Winterous is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-27-10, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
AngelofDeath's Avatar
AngelofDeath's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Small Town, USA
Posts: 165
Reputation: 1
Default

True... but it isn't the effectiveness that I was talking about... It was more of the fact that we can (as BA) drop a giant tank in the middle of the battlefield just because we want to haha

Blood Angels Army: 7250 pts. (no upgrades included)
Orks: 2000 pts.


Penguin of DOOM! haha

BA W-2/D-2/L-1
Orks W-0/D-0/L-0
AngelofDeath is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome