Venomthrope vs flamers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-12-10, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
kalin bloodhowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1
Default Venomthrope vs flamers

personally i think that the flamers ignore the coversave granted by the venomthrope, but rules wise, it seems it could go either way

the venomthrope entry states that 'any friendly unit within 6 inches of the venomthrope may claim a 5+ coversave against any shooting attacks.

in the rulebook it states that flames ignore cover saves, but as far as i am aware codex trumps rule book

so do units within 6 inches of a venomthrope get a coversave?

for the hive mind!

kalin bloodhowl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-12-10, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
jams's Avatar
jams's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: behind the sofa
Posts: 972
Reputation: 14


Default

my take on it is no, it shouldn't get a save. correct me if i'm wrong but the venomthrope gets its coversave from a cloud of vapour it extrudes yeah? then realistically speaking, burning fuel should burn all that off hence negating the cover save.

in game terms though, i think this is another oversight by the developers to add to the long list of stupid rules situations prevalent in the current ruleset

Follow my online ramblings:
Blog: http://crucible-of-fate.blogspot.co.uk/
Twitter: @geochimp
jams is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-12-10, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,879
Reputation: 5


Default

You may claim the cover save against any attack, the flamer ignores it. Having a cover save and being able to use it are different things.

Aramoro
Aramoro is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-12-10, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Maugoth's Avatar
Maugoth's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 387
Reputation: 1
Default

jams and aramoro are both right they would not get a cover save because the flamer says it ignores cover saves so it will ignore the cover generated
Maugoth is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome