feel no pain confusion - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 12:15 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,281
Reputation: 1


Default feel no pain confusion

I know it says that ap 1 or 2 weapons ignore Feel no pain but it also says that any wound that does not allow a save so Here's the question. If the wound is caused by a weapon with an equal ap to your armour save is Feel no pain allowed?

Say a 4+ save being hit by a heavy bolter, No armour save is allowed in this example so does that make FNP void? People say no because it states two ap weapons so the other ones are allowed.... I'm confused.....

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 12:24 AM
Senior Member
 
solkan's Avatar
solkan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 596
Reputation: 1
Default

With Feel No Pain, the issue isn't whether or not the attack's AP rating disallows that particular model's save. Rather, the question is whether the attack disallows all armor saves. AP1 and AP2 weapons are an additional special case rather than an example of not being allowed saves.

Fight for freedom against the undead Emporer!
solkan is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 01:12 AM
Senior Member
 
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,991
Reputation: 8


Default

As Solkan said. It isn't talking about weapons that disallow YOUR save, but rather weapons that disallow ALL armour saves, so power weapons and the like, and any special weapons/attacks that don't allow saves against them (such as the winds of chaos psyhic power, which doesn't have AP, but doesn't allow armour saves). So an AP 3 weapon against a Plague marine, the PM still gets FNP.

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 01:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Daneel2.0's Avatar
Daneel2.0's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,312
Reputation: 1


Default

Exactly right Solkan and maddermax. Other examples of weapons that dis-allow armor saves entirely are rending, some daemon weapons, warscythes and the like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse View Post
[Necrons]shoot, shoot, teleport, shoot. win
Daneel2.0 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 09:42 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,281
Reputation: 1


Default

Okay that cleared it up a lot thanks guys =)

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Ordo Xeno Commander's Avatar
Ordo Xeno Commander's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,403
Reputation: 1


Default

Now this is where I disagree, I reckon if the weapon does not allow YOU an armour save, then you don't get FNP. Take an AP3 bolter vs a SM with FNP (just because he can ). The SM wouldn't get FNP because the AP3 value denies your man the armour save. It may allow a Termie to get his, but will deny your marine both his armour save and his FNP, which is why AP1 + 2 weapons are mentioned, because they are the most common weapon that doesn't allow armour saves.
Ordo Xeno Commander is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 11:20 AM
moo
Senior Member
 
moo's Avatar
moo's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Uk, Grantham
Posts: 926
Reputation: 1


Default

I read this whole thread on some other forums, and the general consensus is that for ranged attacks only AP 1 or 2 ignore FNP. There fore if its AP3 it wouldn't ignore the FNP rule. So i disagree with your disagreement Ordo. AP is armour penetration and so technically it isnt ignoring armour saves, like a power weapon, its just showing its ballistic penetration strength of the weapon.

The way to look at it really, cos in my eyes its quite simple. If a weapon says Ignore armour saves or has AP 1 or 2 then those are the situations you ignore FNP.
moo is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
blitz451's Avatar
blitz451's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 120
Reputation: 1
Default

....against any other wound that no armor save can ever be taken.

A termie would get his armor save against your AP3 bolter hence FNP cannot be negated by that weapon.

"You are what you do when it counts"
blitz451 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Drax's Avatar
Drax's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Beverley
Posts: 564
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ordo Xeno Commander View Post
Now this is where I disagree, I reckon if the weapon does not allow YOU an armour save, then you don't get FNP. Take an AP3 bolter vs a SM with FNP (just because he can ). The SM wouldn't get FNP because the AP3 value denies your man the armour save. It may allow a Termie to get his, but will deny your marine both his armour save and his FNP, which is why AP1 + 2 weapons are mentioned, because they are the most common weapon that doesn't allow armour saves.

an AP3 weapon does not disallow armour saves though, it merely means 3+ or worse saves aren't good enough to protect the wearer.

the armour is a seperate entity to the ability of it's wearer to take damage.

the intention is that if the weapon states "no armour saves are allowed", then the model taking the wound does not get FNP, however if it is simply a case that the weapon has an AP value that stops the armour from working, rather than the weapon dissallowing armour saves in general, then FNP may still be taken.
Drax is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-08, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1
Default Nothing quite like

There's nothing quite like saying something ridiculous to really get a thread going. I take it that we are all agreed that FnP works the way is described in the RAW now?

What bothers me is how tough it seems to make my opponents and how well it establishes that I must be playing with dice numbered 1-3...
Zarahemna is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome