drop pods and interceptor - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-30-13, 06:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50


Default drop pods and interceptor

so something come up in a game i couldn't find an answer to as the interceptor shot is done at the end of an enemy's movement phase, and the unit from inside a drop pod is on the table , can i shoot at the unit? all i can find in the brb is that i can shoot a unit that has arrived via reserves this turn , as they have i can shoot them, but im not sure if this is right?

any thoughts or clarification on this.
kickboxerdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-30-13, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17


Default

Yes. You can shoot the unit that came from the Drop Pod. As you said, it arrived from Reserves too. It is in the FAQ somewhere too. Depending on the weapon with Interceptor, shooting at the disembarked unit is often better than shooting the Drop Pod.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-30-13, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Reputation: 89


Default

Unless there's a missile launcher in the drop pod you may as well ignore it. I would say shooting at the squad that has also arrived from reserve is the better option as well.

I have recently gotten a lot pickier as to when I use the Interceptor rule and when I don't. Sometimes it's worth it to put that gun on a better target that might not be flying or arriving from reserves in your following shooting phase. If only we could just shoot both times every time...

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Related Projects
ntaw is online now  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-30-13, 10:15 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,891
Reputation: 74


Default

The Grey Knight FAQ helps clarify this one

Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore,
count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been
Expecting You special rule? (p45)
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be
able to fire once at each unit.

So although Coteaz' Special Rule is not Interceptor it does clarify the status of a unit disembarking a drop pod. I'd also suggest that Coteaz gets to fire on the Drop Pod before the unit disembarks.

As for firing twice .... well if Coteaz' unit is on a Quad gun they can fire at the Drop Pod, the squad when it gets out and then AGAIN at the end of the phase !

I'm sure that is a loop hole that will be closed.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-30-13, 11:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,603
Reputation: 15


Default

we have always played it so we can shoot the guys inside, it makes the most sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-13, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17


Default

Well. You aren't shooting at the guys inside the Drop Pod. They have disembarked by the time you get to fire.

That getting 3 shots is messed up Magpie. Hopefully Coteaz will be amended to just give the Interceptor rule to his unit.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50


Default

alos another question is the shot limited to shots that are non template , or can things like plasma cannons, and that fire i ask because both my riptides have ion accelerators and interceptor and skyfire
kickboxerdog is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 01:12 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,891
Reputation: 74


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
That getting 3 shots is messed up Magpie. Hopefully Coteaz will be amended to just give the Interceptor rule to his unit.
For the love of God leave us SOME cheese !

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickboxerdog View Post
alos another question is the shot limited to shots that are non template , or can things like plasma cannons, and that fire i ask because both my riptides have ion accelerators and interceptor and skyfire
Shots fired by Interceptor are just normal shooting attacks so any weapon can be fired.

I am fairly confident that only 1 weapon can be fired however as most rules that allow 2 weapons to be fired do stipulate the shooting phase.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post

Shots fired by Interceptor are just normal shooting attacks so any weapon can be fired.

I am fairly confident that only 1 weapon can be fired however as most rules that allow 2 weapons to be fired do stipulate the shooting phase.
ok cool cool i would tend to only fire the str 8 ap2 large blast , should take out most things coming out a drop pod lol
kickboxerdog is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 5,850
Reputation: 89


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickboxerdog View Post
ok cool cool i would tend to only fire the str 8 ap2 large blast , should take out most things coming out a drop pod lol
That it should. The limits of blast templates you're thinking of comes from when firing at fliers. Then you can't use any template or beam weapon. Since the drop pod and squad inside don't have that restriction and neither does Interceptor, you're golden in this scenario. Just don't go blowing any zooming fliers out of the sky with that S8 AP2 blast and you're fine

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Related Projects
ntaw is online now  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome