List of FAQ/Errata candidates. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 05:12 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Icon List of FAQ/Errata candidates.

Well, the flood of questions is dying down a little, I figure I'd post this list of questions from Heresy-Online that either weren't answered clearly or took too much rules-wrangling to answer. The idea is everyone who reads this copy and pastes it into an e-mail to GW at gamefaqs@gwplc.com. So that GW will answer these questions when they do their Rulebook FAQ.

EDIT: To be completely clear, don't discuss the topics you see listed below, just e-mail them to GW. Even if you think there's an obvious answer, still send it, because I checked; each thread was really long, or wasn't answered satisfactorily, or the question was just one many people will have and has an answer which isn't so obvious. If you want to debate a topic you see here, click the link next to it and discuss on the thread dedicated to its discussion. I'll be editing the list below to account for new topics.

Are Space Wolves Runic Weapons separate from Deny the Witch? Can I make both rolls to try and cancel a psychic power? Thread

Can I fire two pistols with Gunslinger in Overwatch? Thread

When I’m allowed to take a “power weapon”, can I choose what kind? Thread

A Death Cult Assassin can take “two power weapons”. Can I model it with a Power Axe and Power Sword, for example? And if they’re both Power Weapons, do I get the +1A for two close combat weapons? Thread

Where are the wounds from a Vector Strike allocated to? Thread

If I disembark from a deep striking vehicle, do I make my 6” move? Thread

If I shoot out from area terrain, and there is no part of the terrain piece obscuring my LOS, does my target get a cover save? Thread

Do the effects of a Crew Stunned/Shaken still affect the passengers if they disembark? Thread

If I use Bladestorm on my Dire Avengers, can they shoot in the Shooting Phase and during Overwatch? Do they still benefit from Bladestorm? Thread

Can Beam powers hit fliers? What about shooting attacks that work like Beam, like the Death Ray? Thread

If a model has Eternal Warrior and Feel No Pain, and suffers an unsaved wound that inflicts Instant Death, can that model make a Feel No Pain roll? Thread

Can a rule that exchanges a model’s BS for a set value, like Telion’s Voice of Experience, be used to override Snap Shot? Thread

If my Blood Angels IC is deployed as part of a unit that then succumbs to Red Thirst, does he also gain the rule, as he is part of the unit? If not, is he allowed to remain part of the unit? Thread

If I have an alliance of convenience, do things that affect enemy units without targeting them, like Eldar Stones of Warding, affect my allies? Thread

Can I use a Witchfire attack in Overwatch? Thread

If a model piles in during their initiative step and then has their initiative reduced by a rule like Lash Whips, do they strike at the same initiative step they piled in at, or their modified initiative? Thread

Can a unit pass underneath a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature? Can a Swooping Monstrous Creature be Tank Shocked? Thread

Which is resolved first, Mind Shackle Scarabs or Challenges? Thread

Can I Leap down from battlements in a phase other than my Movement phase? What about my opponent’s turn? Thread

Can I use the Grav Chutes rule to deploy from a zooming flyer? Thread

Can I use my Burnas in an Overwatch attack and still use them as a power weapon in the subsequent assault phase? Are Burnas counted as unusual power weapons? Thread

Three Part Question:
i) When playing a mission with the Night Fighting rule, and you are using Imotekh, who's Lord of the Strom rule always makes it Night Fighting in the first turn, do you roll for the Mission's Night Figthing anyways?
ii) If yes, and the normal Night Fighting roll fails, do you roll to see if night fighting comes into effect on turn 5?
iii) If yes again, would this Night Fighting cause Lightining Bolts?
If Mind in the Machine affects a Zooming Flyer with more than four weapons (and missiles) how many can you fire? The rule says may fire as if it didn't move in the previous turn. A Tesla Destructor arcs to a unit that cannot be seen by the unit that fired, but can be seen by the unit targeted. Can any wounds actually be caused? Does a C'tan's Lord of Fire work against Psyker using a power from the Pyromancy Discipline? Do Canoptek Spyders gain an extra attack if they have a Fabrication Array? Thread

If a Flying Monstrous Creature that was Swooping fails a Grounding Test and becomes Grounded, does it lose Swooping? Thread

[EDIT ON JULY 11 2012]

When I re-deploy via deepstrike with the Space Marine's Gate of Infinity or the Necron's Veil, does that count as deployment? Can I do actions normally only done in deployment, like Combat Squad or Hunter's From Hyperspace? Thread

Can a Monstrous Creature fire two weapons in an Overwatch attack? Thread

EDIT ON JULY 12 2012

When allocating wounds from a Blast or Large Blast weapon that isn't Barrage, can I allocate wounds to models out of LOS? Thread

Can a Locator Beacon be used for allied units? Can it be used by any unit, even the enemy? Thread

EDIT ON JULY 13 2012

Can I take a Deny the Witch roll against area of effect attacks like Nova? What about Beam powers? Thread

In White Dwarf 390, Carl Dafforn talks about how his Dreadnoughts have the Hammer of Wrath rule. But there is nothing in the Rulebook or FAQ's about this. What gives?

EDIT ON JULY 15 2012

Is the Mawloc's Terror From the Deep resolved like a shooting attack, or melee attack? Can it hit Zooming Flyers? Thread

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."

Last edited by Salahaldin; 07-16-12 at 02:54 AM.
Salahaldin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 05:17 AM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103


Default

One I ran across elsewhere:

Does Imotek's Lord of the Storm rule affect Allies of Convenience and Desperate Allies? They are listed as being treated as enemy unit you can not target, and the Lord of the Storm rule automatically targets all enemy units.
Zion is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Archaon18's Avatar
Archaon18's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Teabagging your corpse!
Posts: 622
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zion View Post
One I ran across elsewhere:

Does Imotek's Lord of the Storm rule affect Allies of Convenience and Desperate Allies? They are listed as being treated as enemy unit you can not target, and the Lord of the Storm rule automatically targets all enemy units.
I don't really know idiot is the intent of this thread but my opinion on this is They are not hit because they cannot be targeted,which as you said, is what the LotS does.

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
Archaon18 is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 10:58 AM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaon18 View Post
I don't really know idiot is the intent of this thread but my opinion on this is They are not hit because they cannot be targeted,which as you said, is what the LotS does.
Actually it has you roll a D6 for each unengaged enemy unit. All of them. And Codex overrules rulebook when it comes to situations where things conflict. So currently Imotek can fry his allies it seems.
Zion is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 11:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zion View Post
One I ran across elsewhere:

Does Imotek's Lord of the Storm rule affect Allies of Convenience and Desperate Allies? They are listed as being treated as enemy unit you can not target, and the Lord of the Storm rule automatically targets all enemy units.
Got you covered:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salahaldin View Post
If I have an alliance of convenience, do things that affect enemy units without targeting them, like Eldar Stones of Warding, affect my allies? Thread

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 11:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaon18 View Post
I don't really know idiot
Did this just slip in, or were you purposely slipping in an insult?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaon18 View Post
is the intent of this thread but my opinion on this is They are not hit because they cannot be targeted,which as you said, is what the LotS does.
The purpose of this thread was explained in the opening paragraph of the opening post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salahaldin View Post
Well, the flood of questions is dying down a little, I figure I'd post this list of questions from Heresy-Online that either weren't answered clearly or took too much rules-wrangling to answer. The idea is everyone who reads this copy and pastes it into an e-mail to GW. So that GW will answer these questions when they do their Rulebook FAQ.
To be clear, it is not to discuss rules queries; if you want to discuss something listed here, click the handy link to the thread where it was discussed and post your opinions there. I'll edit the top post to reflect this.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-12-12, 12:08 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,891
Reputation: 74


Default

I'd like to see that age old nugget of "remove and return via deep strike" be clarified as whether it is "deployment" so we can tidy up once and for all things like combat squadding and Deathmarking , Hunters from Hyperspace etc.

I also NEED the Animus Speculum question put to rest, I had hope the new ed would do so. i.e. does it get a buff or EACH Psyker model in a GK/IG Psychic choir, GK squad, GK Vehicles, Mystic.

and in party with that are "Psykers" psykers and if so what mastery level are they.

add in Null Rod and a full run down on what it can/can't nerf.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-12-12, 12:09 AM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salahaldin View Post
Got you covered:
Ah, thanks! I saw the list of Necron questions but had missed that there was a similar question.
Zion is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-12-12, 12:13 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I'd like to see that age old nugget of "remove and return via deep strike" be clarified as whether it is "deployment" so we can tidy up once and for all things like combat squadding and Deathmarking , Hunters from Hyperspace etc.

I also NEED the Animus Speculum question put to rest, I had hope the new ed would do so. i.e. does it get a buff or EACH Psyker model in a GK/IG Psychic choir, GK squad, GK Vehicles, Mystic.

and in party with that are "Psykers" psykers and if so what mastery level are they.

add in Null Rod and a full run down on what it can/can't nerf.
I nearly burned out my eyeballs last night just compiling the original list, so I'll make you a deal. Give me links to each thread discussing these, and I'll add them and a summary of the question to the list. I'll comb the recent threads and add what's new.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-12-12, 12:27 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,891
Reputation: 74


Default

That's cool mate, the threads on these are quite old. What I might do is just submit them to the FAQ Gods myself and feedback any results.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome