Pre Tourny question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-04-12, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Obinhi's Avatar
Obinhi's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ward Arkansas
Posts: 279
Reputation: 1
Pre Tourny question

Hello folks, Question: If a peice of war gear is listed as comming with a model does it have to be modeled on the peice.

Example - I have a gaurdsman modeled with a standard in one hand and throwing a grenade in the other. If my lasgun glued to his back falls off would my oponent be in the right to call bullshit if I want to shoot with the standard guy.

Another example would be that my trasnports come with smoke launchers standard, do they need to be modeled or is it assumed that you can do a burn out or abuse the engine in some way as to produce smoke.

I for one can show you a 4K hyster forklift that has built in smoke launchers (Because its a peice of crap) here on earth, so I am sure that you could argue the IG could find some way to make smoke on a tank.

The IG are proof that good things come to us who wait. I've been Guard since 3rd ed. I been in the store and remember getting 5 boxes of men (when they came in 20 man boxes) 3 Commissars and praying that I might survive til turn 4. I've stuck it out, and you know what I have to say? WHO'S DYING NOW HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!

Obinhi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-12, 12:09 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,698
Reputation: 19


Standard equipment is usually exempt from WYSIWYG. Unless there are several options for arming the model.

Abandon GW, win back your wallet. Play Infinity!
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-12, 12:15 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,891
Reputation: 74


I think so long as your clear as to what something is equipped with and you're not trying to pull a swifty with your opponent then there shouldn't be a problem.

I think it was some Soviet tanks that early on used to inject oil into the cylinders to make smoke? Don't have to reload smoke pots then !
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-12, 01:02 AM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,827


As always when it comes to tourneys, the best bet is to ask the tourney organizer or judges.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-12, 01:59 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Obinhi's Avatar
Obinhi's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ward Arkansas
Posts: 279
Reputation: 1
Thank you folks, thats what I figured but I wanted to make sure.

The IG are proof that good things come to us who wait. I've been Guard since 3rd ed. I been in the store and remember getting 5 boxes of men (when they came in 20 man boxes) 3 Commissars and praying that I might survive til turn 4. I've stuck it out, and you know what I have to say? WHO'S DYING NOW HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!

Obinhi is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-12, 12:36 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Reputation: 1
Standard equipment (so, frags, kraks, bolter, bolt pistol for regular marine) is assumed to be on the model. If you've bought combi weapons, meltabombs, powerfists, wolf banners etc. they should be modelled.
Ericthegreen is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-12, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Obinhi's Avatar
Obinhi's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ward Arkansas
Posts: 279
Reputation: 1
Awesome thanks guys, I figured that was the case.

The IG are proof that good things come to us who wait. I've been Guard since 3rd ed. I been in the store and remember getting 5 boxes of men (when they came in 20 man boxes) 3 Commissars and praying that I might survive til turn 4. I've stuck it out, and you know what I have to say? WHO'S DYING NOW HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!

Obinhi is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome