Space Wolf Characters + Wargear - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-26-10, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
23nsky's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Perth, Western Aust
Posts: 18
Reputation: 1
Default Space Wolf Characters + Wargear

What is the limits on the rules of "Space Wolf Characters" may NOT have duplicate wargear or psyhic gifts?

I believe its ok for, say example, 3 Rune Priests to ALL have Jaws of the World Wolf provided their second power is different (i.e.: one with "Tempest Wrath", another with "Storm Caller", etc...).

What then is the deal with Wargear? Must it be considered different for each model, or if the model has different pyshic powers is that difference enough for each Rune Priest to be able to have identical gear?

Hope I'm being clear. Would be good to understand this.
23nsky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-26-10, 05:06 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,751
Reputation: 83


Default

You're right on the Psychic powers bit, but I don't know about wargear.

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-26-10, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Master WootWoot's Avatar
Master WootWoot's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 743
Reputation: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23nsky View Post
...Space Wolf Characters may NOT have duplicate wargear or psyhic gifts...
I think what is meant is that a Wolf Lord can't have two thunderhammers or storm shield, or storm bolters. A Runepriest can't have two thunderclaps or any other psychic powers, and so on...

Visit my Sons of Iron log!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bitsandkits
Those bloody bits websites are a pain in the ass!! maybe they could sell the same bit to multiple people and they can share it on a rotational basis, like a time share, so that terminator cyclone missile launcher you can have the first week in april, two weeks in august and random rolling weekend in December.
Master WootWoot is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-26-10, 06:09 PM
Grand Lord Munchkin
 
gen.ahab's Avatar
gen.ahab's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eugene, OR, USA
Posts: 6,988
Reputation: 17


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master WootWoot View Post
I think what is meant is that a Wolf Lord can't have two thunderhammers or storm shield, or storm bolters. A Runepriest can't have two thunderclaps or any other psychic powers, and so on...
Yeah..... Well that's wrong. Partially anyway.

It means that two different wolf lords can not bring the same combination wargear into a fight and that the wargear on a second RP can not be the same combination of wargear or psychic powers as the first RP, or a third or a forth.

Basically they cannot have the same saga, they cannot have the same combinations of wargear, and they cannot have the same combinations of psychic powers.

Last edited by gen.ahab; 12-26-10 at 06:13 PM.
gen.ahab is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-27-10, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Deathscythe4722's Avatar
Deathscythe4722's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 594
Reputation: 1
Default

Ahab got it right.

No two HQs can have the same Saga,

The same COMBINATION of wargear,

or the same COMBINATION of Psychic powers
Deathscythe4722 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-27-10, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Master WootWoot's Avatar
Master WootWoot's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 743
Reputation: 1
Default

What? Can't I have two Wolf Lords with Storm Bolters and Frost Axes? That sounds pretty insane.

Visit my Sons of Iron log!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bitsandkits
Those bloody bits websites are a pain in the ass!! maybe they could sell the same bit to multiple people and they can share it on a rotational basis, like a time share, so that terminator cyclone missile launcher you can have the first week in april, two weeks in august and random rolling weekend in December.
Master WootWoot is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-27-10, 01:30 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,751
Reputation: 83


Default

But you can if one has Melta Bombs.

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-27-10, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
23nsky's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Perth, Western Aust
Posts: 18
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
But you can if one has Melta Bombs.

Midnight
Question 1) So, sticking with Rune Priests as an example, I CANNOT have the following Rune Priests:

RP1 has Thunderclap and Living Lightning and has NOT replaced any of their wargear

RP2 has Thunderclap and Storm caller, and has ALSO NOT replaced any of their wargear (has Power Armor, Runic Weapon, Bolt Pistol, Grenades)


and the reason I cannot have is because while they have different Psychic powers, their Wargear is the same (no changes from the basic wargear).

However, if I replaced one Rune Priest's Bolt-Pistol with a Bolter/ Bolt-Gun (which is free) they now both become legal as neither has the same Psychic Power AND their wargear is different. Is this correct that because one piece of war-gear is different, the characters now become legally different and allowed to be fielded?



Question 2) Continuing to detail my original question; say we have the same two Rune Priets (now with one with a Bolter/Bolt-Gun). While their psychic powers and wargear is different, only ONE can have "Saga of the Beast-Slayer" as Saga's cannot be duplicated. Is that right?



Question 3) Further detail - if I give one of my RP's "Saga of the Beast Slayer" this has now prevented ANY OTHER character (my Wolf-Lord for example) from choosing this Saga. Is this correct? Does this effectively mean that all Saga's are "one-per-army" choices?


Question 4) Does NOT having a Saga limit Space-wolf characters? (i.e.: if a Space Wolf character CAN take a Saga but has not, and another Space Wolf Chacter CAN take a saga, must the second take a Saga? Can there only be one "saga-less" Space Wolf Character per army?)

Last edited by 23nsky; 12-27-10 at 04:14 PM.
23nsky is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-27-10, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Master WootWoot's Avatar
Master WootWoot's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 743
Reputation: 1
Default

That codex is crazy.

Visit my Sons of Iron log!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bitsandkits
Those bloody bits websites are a pain in the ass!! maybe they could sell the same bit to multiple people and they can share it on a rotational basis, like a time share, so that terminator cyclone missile launcher you can have the first week in april, two weeks in august and random rolling weekend in December.
Master WootWoot is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-27-10, 08:49 PM
Grand Lord Munchkin
 
gen.ahab's Avatar
gen.ahab's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eugene, OR, USA
Posts: 6,988
Reputation: 17


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 23nsky View Post
Question 1) So, sticking with Rune Priests as an example, I CANNOT have the following Rune Priests:

RP1 has Thunderclap and Living Lightning and has NOT replaced any of their wargear

RP2 has Thunderclap and Storm caller, and has ALSO NOT replaced any of their wargear (has Power Armor, Runic Weapon, Bolt Pistol, Grenades)


and the reason I cannot have is because while they have different Psychic powers, their Wargear is the same (no changes from the basic wargear).

However, if I replaced one Rune Priest's Bolt-Pistol with a Bolter/ Bolt-Gun (which is free) they now both become legal as neither has the same Psychic Power AND their wargear is different. Is this correct that because one piece of war-gear is different, the characters now become legally different and allowed to be fielded?



Question 2) Continuing to detail my original question; say we have the same two Rune Priets (now with one with a Bolter/Bolt-Gun). While their psychic powers and wargear is different, only ONE can have "Saga of the Beast-Slayer" as Saga's cannot be duplicated. Is that right?



Question 3) Further detail - if I give one of my RP's "Saga of the Beast Slayer" this has now prevented ANY OTHER character (my Wolf-Lord for example) from choosing this Saga. Is this correct? Does this effectively mean that all Saga's are "one-per-army" choices?


Question 4) Does NOT having a Saga limit Space-wolf characters? (i.e.: if a Space Wolf character CAN take a Saga but has not, and another Space Wolf Chacter CAN take a saga, must the second take a Saga? Can there only be one "saga-less" Space Wolf Character per army?)
Answer #1 Yes, if you had different psychic power combinations and wargear combinations it would be legal.

Answer #2 ....Yes.

Answer #3......... Yes.

Answer #4 What the fuck are you on about? No, but where would you get that from?

Ok, let me sum it up again, you cannot have the same combination of psychic powers, you cannot have the same combination of wargear choices, you cannot have more than one character with the same sagas(only taken once). Nowhere did I say you had to take a saga, it is not a compulsory choice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master WootWoot View Post
That codex is crazy.
The codex is meant to fit their fluff, it isn't as though this is difficult to grasp.

Last edited by gen.ahab; 12-27-10 at 08:52 PM.
gen.ahab is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome