Grey Knights - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-21-09, 03:32 PM Thread Starter

Icon Grey Knights

Im new to warhammer 40000.
I started playing when the games-workshop store in Antwerp opened.
Im 16 and have never painted be4.
I want to play grey knights.
What list should I use to win a lot?
Are they hard too paint?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-21-09, 03:47 PM

Darkseer's Flag is: Great Britain

Sorry to tell you this, but if you want to win games, Grey Knights are not a good choice. Their army book is very out of date.

My Tau Blog:
tactics, conversions, painting guides and more
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-21-09, 03:50 PM
Vaz

Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom

Grey Knights are good army - they play very similar to Eldar lists, but without some of their funky rules.

The typical solid Grey Knight list is based around 2 Land Raiders, 2 Tactical Grey Knight Squads, a Terminator Hero, and a Bodyguard. That's 1000 Pts, and good at taking on quite a bit.

They are unfortunately expensive models, and in game, so it'll hurt if one dies, but there's no denying their effectiveness.

However, due to their model size, being Fearless, and general weakness (you're paying nearly double for a person that's not tougher than a Marine).

To win, Tyranid's do well, Eldar, and Orks are your best bet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-21-09, 04:01 PM

I don't think you should settle for a list that you don't like just to win with. Use an army that you like and learn to win with it. So you can at least find that the list your playing with is fun and enjoyable. Isn't that the meaning of the game...to have fun?