New Space Marines Player - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By War Pig

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-01-16, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
War Pig's Flag is: USA

Default New Space Marines Player

I'm new to 40k but have been playing wargames for a while. I'm set on playing an Imperium army and I'm pretty sure I'll go with Iron Hands. I have the Space Marine codex but there are still a lot of list building options with formations and all that and would like to ask for some advice.

I'm not looking to jump into tournament play right away but I don't want to play weak lists either. "Effective" is pretty much what kind of lists I'd like to build but I'm not looking for the cheesiest lists. Which SM formations jibe with Iron Hands chapter tactics? Right away the Land Raider Spearhead looks like a good fit but I'm not sure. What units in general are good with Iron Hands? Dreadnaughts?

Sorry about the questions but there's a lot to consider. I don't want to buy minis that won't see much use and I prefer effect over aesthetic even though pretty much all of the SM minis look good. I am going to start buying minis this week. I've done a search of these forums but couldn't find a similar recent post but I still have the tactica section to look at. Any feedback is helpful.

Last edited by War Pig; 11-01-16 at 07:21 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-01-16, 07:34 PM

Fallen's Flag is: USA

Iron Hands typically use standard Tactical Marines (maybe some Sternguard as well to better represent company veterans not in terminator armor) and War Machines.

Dreadnoughts, and tanks tend to be most associated with the Iron Hands - basically anything in the Heavy Support section is their shin-ding.