Dark Angels & Fortifications. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-06-16, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Orochi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,870
Reputation: 9


Default Dark Angels & Fortifications.

Strange question.

How would I go about picking Fortifications in a Lion's Strike Force comprised of 3 Detachments?

Do I get one choice per Detachment?

Or can I not take the mat all due to them not being listed in Force Organisation (for the Detachments)?

Many Thanks,
Orochi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-06-16, 04:11 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,751
Reputation: 83


Default

You don't get one, as there's no Fortification slot in the Lion's Blade. It's an annoying downside to the Combi-Detachments/Decurions, which as far as I'm aware are all unable to take Fortifications (can you bring a Tidewall in a Hunter Cadre?).

You can bring a Fortification formation as a seperate detachment, but the Fortification Networks all tend to be on the pricey side (best is probably the Promethium Relay Pipes and 1-3 Void Shield Generators, but I think there's one for a Bastion and a bunch of Aegis Lines and another for the Wall of Martyrs). I think there's also a Fortification Detachment included in Stronghold Assault which just lets you slot a fortification into your army as its own detachment, but without the book I couldn't say for sure.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-06-16, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Orochi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,870
Reputation: 9


Default

Ah, I see. Do we think this is possibly over-sight/negligence on behalf of GW? Or do you think they genuinely intended to not allow people to take Fortifications in Decurions?
Orochi is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-06-16, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,850
Reputation: 71


Default

It's not an oversight.

And no, @MidnightSun , the Tau don't get them in the Hunter.

The key comes from the fact that the Gladius, lion's Blade, Decurion, Hunter's Cadre, etc, are all made up out of FORMATIONS, and not DETACHMENTS.

In a Formation, there are no open slots. At best, you'll see something like '1-2 Unit X, 0-3 Unit Y or Unit Z' (much like the Demi Company). But you'll never relaly have freedom of choice.

In Detachments, you get a force org chart where you get 1-2 HQ, 2-6 Troop, etc (for example). You need something like this to be able to field a Fortification or a Lord of War, as it is specified in that chart.

And also, no, MS, to my knowledge, there's no option for a Fortification Detachment. That's just how Battlescribe adds it to the party. If that were the case, then there wouldn't be any downside to something like a Decurion, because you could just slot the Fortification detachment in with no fear or repercussions.

Xabre is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-10-16, 12:58 AM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,083
Reputation: 94


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
And also, no, MS, to my knowledge, there's no option for a Fortification Detachment.
To date there is not. From the Stronghold Assault book:

Quote:
Each datasheet uses up a single fortification slot on the Force Organisation chart.
No Fortification slot, no Fortification :/

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Related Projects
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome